Mr.PlanB Logo
    Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026
    Ledger
    Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026

    croit: Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard

    A small German vendor's management layer and support for upstream Ceph: fast monthly releases and NVMe-oF failover, with no public price list or support policy.

    Edition October 16, 20267 min read

    Where croit put its effort, 2018 to 2026

    Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Virtualization Storage Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.

    ’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26
    Data services core3
    Resilience and HA
    Performance and protocols1
    Hypervisor integration
    Scale and topology1
    Data protection and DR
    Security
    Operations and automation2
    Hardware and deployment freedom2
    Kubernetes and containers
    no change+0.5+1+1.5 or moreScores out of 5 per area.

    Biggest pushes overall: Performance and protocols (+1), Operations and automation (+1), Data services core (+0.5). Already strong in 2017: Hardware and deployment freedom, Data services core, Resilience and HA.

    Top focus each year: 2024 Scale and topology; 2026 Performance and protocols. 7 of 9 years show no gain in any area.

    Part of the Virtualization Storage Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.

    Snapshot

    • Type: product
    • Owner: croit GmbH, Germany; founded January 2017 by Martin Verges and Matthias Grandl; privately owned by Verges, Grandl and Andy Muthmann with no outside capital (vendor statement); Ceph Foundation General member since 2018-11-12; Proxmox Gold Partner
    • Engine: Ceph (upstream builds by croit, Reef 18.2.8 and Tentacle 20.2.x) on an AlmaLinux-based immutable OS image served by PXE
    • Licence: Commercial software licence; SLAs only with a licence; two image variants since v2608.0, Core (upstream Ceph built and patched by croit) and Enhanced (croit's own Ceph build, stated to stay open source and upstream compatible); prices and metric not published (pricing page 404 on 2026-10-15)
    • Latest release: v2609.0 (September 2026 by version label, post undated), shipping Ceph Tentacle 20.2.4
    • Support lifecycle: Not published. Observed: Reef and Tentacle supported, Squid skipped ("upgrade directly to Tentacle"); 24/7 premium support sold as a service
    • Next milestone: None published
    • Hypervisors: Proxmox VE and other KVM hosts natively over RBD (croit Proxmox VE arm64 post, Gold Partner); VMware or Hyper-V only through the iSCSI or NVMe-oF export (v2609.0 post); no vSphere plug-in and no validated VMware target found
    • Tier: Ceph family
    • Archetype: Dependable builder
    • Evidence grade: C. Features come from croit's release posts for v2605 to v2609 and its about and solutions pages; the posts carry no dates, so months are read from the year-month version labels. docs.croit.io returned 503 and the pricing page 404 on 2026-10-15, so prices, licence terms and support windows are unverified. The company's founding year and ownership come from its own about page and the 2018 Ceph Foundation launch release. Steps before 2024 are inferred from the upstream Ceph the product managed and are grade C.

    Scorecard

    DimensionScoreDirection
    Capability today70.8 / 100higher is better
    Momentum since end of 2022+11.5 points (2017 to 2022: +0.0)higher is better
    Credibility14.5 / 25higher is better
    Commercial risk12.0 / 25lower is better
    Technical lock-in7.5 / 25lower is better
    Integrator fit9.5 / 20higher is better
    AI leverage3.5 / 20higher is better
    Ledger Index58.0 / 100balanced weights; see the methodology

    Capability by domain, 2015 to today

    Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.

    Domain (weight)201520192022Today
    Data services core (15)n/a3.53.54
    Resilience and HA (15)n/a3.53.54
    Performance and protocols (12)n/a2.52.53.5
    Hypervisor integration (12)n/a2.52.53
    Scale and topology (10)n/a3.53.54
    Data protection and DR (10)n/a2.52.53
    Security (8)n/a2.52.53
    Operations and automation (8)n/a334
    Hardware and deployment freedom (5)n/a444.5
    Kubernetes and containers (5)n/a1.51.51.5
    Total / 100n/a59.359.370.8

    Year by year: 2017: 59.3 · 2018: 59.3 · 2019: 59.3 · 2020: 59.3 · 2021: 59.3 · 2022: 59.3 · 2023: 59.3 · 2024: 60.8 · 2025: 60.8 · 2026: 70.8

    What moved the score

    YearDomainChangePointsTrigger
    2024Hardware and deployment freedom4 → 4.5+0.5v2404.1: x86_64 and Arm nodes in one cluster (Arm preview images since 2018); management container x86-64 only
    2024Scale and topology3.5 → 4+1.0v2404.1: separate default OS images for x86_64 and Arm nodes in one cluster
    2026Data protection and DR2.5 → 3+1.0v2607.0: S3 multisite across clusters with promote-surviving-zone, configuration backup to S3; v2608.0 Enhanced: CephFS mirroring with snapdiff; no orchestrated failover, no immutable snapshots
    2026Data services core3.5 → 4+1.5v2607.0: Tentacle 20.2.2 default for new clusters, bringing FastEC; v2609.0 ships 20.2.4; no deduplication
    2026Hypervisor integration2.5 → 3+1.2v2609.0: NVMe-oF export with gateway failover for non-KVM hosts; Proxmox VE integration documented and croit is a Proxmox Gold Partner; still no vSphere plug-in or Hyper-V path
    2026Operations and automation3 → 4+1.6v2605.1: guardrails against reboots that would make PGs inactive and PXE subnet checks; v2609.0: OSD replacement wizard, OS images as extendable OCI containers, IPv6-only clusters; Terraform and Ansible not found
    2026Performance and protocols2.5 → 3.5+2.4v2607.0: SMB gateway rebuilt with POSIX or Windows ACLs and AD idmap, load-balanced S3 (v2608.0); v2609.0: NVMe-oF export with failover; no Fibre Channel, no published benchmarks
    2026Resilience and HA3.5 → 4+1.5v2609.0: NVMe-oF export served by several gateways, one active and others standby, with exclusive-lock fencing; stretch mode not mentioned in croit's posts
    2026Security2.5 → 3+0.8v2605: AlmaLinux CVE fixes with an image changelog; v2608.0: CephFS Guard ransomware and malicious client detection (experimental); v2609.0: Tentacle 20.2.4 with the CephX authentication bypass fix CVE-2025-30156 and three more CVEs (2026-08-19), with a key renewal guide

    Direction, 2023 to 2026

    Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).

    DateItemThemeDriver
    2024-04v2404.1: separate default OS images for x86_64 and Arm nodesHardwareC
    2026-05v2605.0: images with Reef 18.2.8 and Tentacle 20.2.1; AlmaLinux CVE fixes with an image changelogSecurityU
    2026-05v2605.1: reboot guardrails and PXE subnet checkOperationsC
    2026-07v2607.0: Tentacle 20.2.2 default for new clusters; Squid skippedPackagingU
    2026-07v2607.0: S3 multisite across clusters with promote-surviving-zone; configuration backup to S3Data protectionC
    2026-07v2607.0: SMB gateway rebuilt with AD idmap and Windows ACLsPerformanceC
    2026-08v2608.0: croit Enhanced variant, croit's own Ceph build beside CorePackagingV
    2026-08v2608.0: CephFS Guard ransomware detection (experimental)SecurityV
    2026-08v2608.0: CephFS mirroring with snapdiff, MDS notifications over UDP or Kafka, load-balanced S3Data protectionC
    2026-08Storage layer for Proxmox VE arm64 after Proxmox's official arm64 build (2026-08-05)Hypervisor integrationM
    2026-09v2609.0: NVMe-oF export with active and standby gateways and exclusive-lock fencingResilienceC
    2026-09v2609.0: OSD replacement wizard, OS images as OCI containers, IPv6-only clustersOperationsC
    2026-09v2609.0: backend rewritten from Kotlin to GoOperationsV
    2026-09v2609.0: Tentacle 20.2.4 with the CephX bypass fix and a key renewal guideSecurityU
    2026-09aiplane (formerly croit LLM Gateway): separate AGPL-3.0 gateway product for models, agents and MCP tools; release date not statedAIV
    • Centre of gravity: Security (3), Operations (3), Packaging (2)
    • Blind spots (no items): Data services, Scale, Kubernetes, Licensing
    • Driver mix: Vision 27%, Customer need 47%, Market window 7%, Upstream 20%, Portfolio 0%
    • Idea-to-need index: 0.33 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)

    Credibility: 14.5 / 25

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Cadence3.5Year-month version labels show a near-monthly rhythm (v2605, v2607, v2608, v2609), but the posts carry no dates and no schedule is published
    Roadmap transparency1.5Release posts only; no roadmap, no public tracker, documentation unreachable on 2026-10-15
    Say-do3No dated promises to check; experimental items are labelled as such
    Velocity4Several substantive items per release in 2026: SMB rebuild, S3 multisite, Enhanced variant, NVMe-oF failover
    Lifecycle stability2.5Backend language rewrite, a new Core and Enhanced split and a skipped Squid in one year; no support windows published

    Commercial risk: 12.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Price and licence volatility2.5No public price or metric; a second edition appeared in 2026 with no statement on cost
    Purchase constraints2.5Licence required for any SLA; terms not public; no free tier found
    Channel and access2.5Direct sales and consulting only; pricing page 404 and documentation 503 when checked
    Owner stability2.5Small founder-owned company with no outside capital; stability depends on three people
    Cost of staying supported2Unknown; the Core image runs upstream Ceph and monthly releases suggest frequent but small updates

    Technical lock-in: 7.5 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Formats0.5Stock Ceph: RBD, CephFS, S3
    Export path1.5Core is upstream Ceph and Enhanced can switch back to Core without data migration; leaving croit for plain Ceph is not documented
    Stack coupling2.5PXE-booted immutable OS images replace cephadm; the management node is a single x86-64 component
    Hardware / cloud coupling1Commodity x86 and Arm servers; croit also sells servers; no cloud attach
    Skills and tooling coupling2croit UI, REST API and templates on top of Ceph skills

    Integrator fit: 9.5 / 20

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Partner programme openness2No partner programme found; croit itself is a Proxmox Gold Partner and sells direct
    Multi-tenancy and self-service2.5Pools, RGW multisite, SMB users and groups; no self-service portal
    API and infrastructure-as-code3REST API, event scripts and configuration templates; no Terraform or Ansible content found
    Skills and certification2croit offers consulting and training; no certification

    AI leverage: 3.5 / 20

    How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.

    Criterion20192022TodayLatest step
    AI workload infrastructure1112017: S3 and CephFS for data; no GPU data path
    AI platform stack000.52026: aiplane, an OpenAI-compatible gateway to models, agents and MCP tools, sold as a separate AGPL-3.0 product that does not mention the storage platform
    AI-assisted operations0002017: None shipped; croit describes internal AI support triage and an internal MCP server over its interface, with no statement that either is a product feature
    Agent openness2222017: REST API and event scripts; an MCP server is described as internal, product status unclear

    Year by year: 2017: 3 · 2018: 3 · 2019: 3 · 2020: 3 · 2021: 3 · 2022: 3 · 2023: 3 · 2024: 3 · 2025: 3 · 2026: 3.5

    AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 3 AI items announced; 1 GA, 0 still preview, 2 pending, 0 dropped. aiplane is released; the MCP control server and the support triage are described as internal tools with no shipping statement.

    croit uses AI inside its own support process and sells a separate model gateway, but the storage product itself has no AI feature and no official agent interface beyond the REST API. If the internal MCP server ships, the agent strand should be re-scored.

    Reading

    croit delivers upstream Ceph with a management layer that moved fast in 2026: NVMe-oF with gateway failover, a rebuilt SMB gateway, S3 multisite and an Enhanced build of Ceph, all within five releases. Its capability therefore tracks the engine closely, and the half steps it loses are where croit's own pages do not confirm what the engine can do, such as stretch mode, mirroring in the UI and encryption at rest. The scores carry the lowest evidence grade in the group because the vendor publishes no prices, no support windows and no release dates, and its documentation was unreachable when checked. Ask for the licence terms and the support policy in writing before anything else.

    Open questions and items to re-score

    • Price list, metric and licence terms were not found; the pricing page returned 404.
    • Support period per release and the upgrade policy are unpublished; docs.croit.io returned 503 on 2026-10-15.
    • Real release dates for v2605 to v2609 are inferred from version labels.
    • Whether RBD mirroring, stretch mode and encryption at rest are exposed in the croit product was not found.
    • Whether croit validates VMware ESXi as a target over iSCSI or NVMe-oF was not found.
    • First production release date of the croit product was not found; scoring starts with the company's founding year.
    • Whether the internal MCP server and the Enhanced variant carry extra cost was not stated.

    Related reading

    More from Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026