Mr.PlanB Logo
    Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026
    Ledger
    Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026

    Blockbridge: Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard

    Blockbridge is disaggregated iSCSI and NVMe/TCP block storage with a native Proxmox VE plug-in and tenant isolation; its core last shipped in August 2025.

    Edition October 16, 20268 min read

    Where Blockbridge put its effort, 2018 to 2026

    Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Virtualization Storage Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.

    ’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26
    Data services core
    Resilience and HA1
    Performance and protocols2
    Hypervisor integration13
    Scale and topology
    Data protection and DR12
    Security3
    Operations and automation
    Hardware and deployment freedom
    Kubernetes and containers1
    no change+0.5+1+1.5 or moreScores out of 5 per area.

    Biggest pushes overall: Hypervisor integration (+1), Data protection and DR (+1), Kubernetes and containers (+1). Already strong in 2017: Data services core, Performance and protocols, Hypervisor integration.

    Top focus each year: 2021 Hypervisor integration; 2023 Resilience and HA; 2024 Data protection and DR; 2025 Kubernetes and containers. 5 of 9 years show no gain in any area.

    Part of the Virtualization Storage Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.

    Snapshot

    • Type: product
    • Owner: Blockbridge Networks LLC (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA; founded 2010; privately held; owners and investors not named)
    • Licence: Commercial, closed source; no public price, units or editions; sold as software for any server vendor or as all-flash systems on Dell, Supermicro and QCT servers; Proxmox users report pricing per TB per month (forum, unverified); no free tier found
    • Latest release: Core 6.1.0 (2025-08-20), with no core release since; Proxmox driver 3.7.7 (2026-05-27, PVE 9.2 API compatibility). Inclusion test 1 is met by the eight 3.7.x driver releases from 2025-10-20
    • Support lifecycle: No published policy; vendor claims 24x7 monitoring and support; the platform FAQ advises against running hardware beyond about 5 to 7 years for business-critical use
    • Next milestone: none published
    • Hypervisors: Proxmox VE 6.0 to 9.2 (native plug-in, KB compatibility table), VMware vSphere and ESXi (VAAI; vSphere 7 U3c or newer for NVMe/TCP), Microsoft Hyper-V (CSV, MPIO), OpenStack Cinder, Kubernetes through CSI (blockbridge.com software page and KB, read 2026-10-16); no XCP-ng or KubeVirt found
    • Tier: Software-defined storage
    • Archetype: Dependable builder with a quiet core
    • Evidence grade: B. The Proxmox driver history is read from the dated Blockbridge KB guide (grade A). Core features come from the 5.1, 6.0 and 6.1 posts and KB release pages, of which only the 6.1 post carries a reliable date (grade B). The redundancy scheme, minimum system, capacity limits and replication are not documented on any public page, so resilience, scale and DR are grade C, as is the 2017 start, which is the dossier's judgement for the AnyScale GA release.

    Scorecard

    DimensionScoreDirection
    Capability today64.7 / 100higher is better
    Momentum since end of 2022+8.5 points (2017 to 2022: +1.2)higher is better
    Credibility12.5 / 25higher is better
    Commercial risk12.0 / 25lower is better
    Technical lock-in8.0 / 25lower is better
    Integrator fit9.0 / 20higher is better
    AI leverage3.0 / 20higher is better
    Ledger Index52.8 / 100balanced weights; see the methodology

    Capability by domain, 2015 to today

    Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.

    Domain (weight)201520192022Today
    Data services core (15)n/a3.53.53.5
    Resilience and HA (15)n/a2.52.53
    Performance and protocols (12)n/a333.5
    Hypervisor integration (12)n/a33.54
    Scale and topology (10)n/a2.52.52.5
    Data protection and DR (10)n/a1.51.52.5
    Security (8)n/a333.5
    Operations and automation (8)n/a333.5
    Hardware and deployment freedom (5)n/a333
    Kubernetes and containers (5)n/a223
    Total / 100n/a55.056.264.7

    Year by year: 2017: 55.0 · 2018: 55.0 · 2019: 55.0 · 2020: 55.0 · 2021: 56.2 · 2022: 56.2 · 2023: 60.9 · 2024: 61.9 · 2025: 64.7 · 2026: 64.7

    What moved the score

    YearDomainChangePointsTrigger
    2021Hypervisor integration3 → 3.5+1.2Proxmox driver 2.1.0 (2021-08-24): native Proxmox VE plug-in with snapshots and rollback
    2023Hypervisor integration3.5 → 4+1.26.0: NVMe equivalents of VAAI and ANA for ESXi; 5.1 and driver 3.1.0 deepen Proxmox support; later drivers add Veeam on Proxmox VE and PVE 9.2
    2023Operations and automation3 → 3.5+0.85.1: Grafana dashboards, CLI roles and faster failover; no Terraform or Ansible found
    2023Performance and protocols3 → 3.5+1.26.0: NVMe/TCP built into the data engine with ANA and native multipathing (a preview reached Proxmox in driver 3.0.0 on 2022-10-03); no NFS, SMB or Fibre Channel
    2023Resilience and HA2.5 → 3+1.56.0: soft fencing tied to the hardware watchdog and write-intent logs for resync (post timestamped 2023-09-15); failure tolerance still undocumented
    2024Data protection and DR1.5 → 2+1.0Driver 3.3.0 (2024-11-19): Veeam Backup and Replication 12.2 support on Proxmox VE
    2025Data protection and DR2 → 2.5+1.0Driver 3.6.0 (2025-09-15): volume import and export for cross-datacentre migration; 3.7.2: Veeam v13; no asynchronous replication or immutability documented
    2025Kubernetes and containers2 → 3+1.06.1: CSI topology-aware provisioning and raw block volumes; RWX block for KubeVirt not found
    2025Security3 → 3.5+0.86.1 (2025-08-20): NVMe DHCHAP authentication and tenant VLAN binding

    Direction, 2023 to 2026

    Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).

    DateItemThemeDriver
    2023-06Driver 3.1.0: multi-tenant networking for Proxmox VESecurityC
    2023-09Core 5.1: Proxmox plug-in support, Grafana dashboards, CLI roles, faster failoverOperationsC
    2023-09Core 6.0: NVMe/TCP data engine, NVMe equivalents of VAAI and ANA, soft fencing, write-intent logs (date uncertain)PerformanceC
    2024-05Driver 3.2.0: multipath local bindingPerformanceC
    2024-11Driver 3.3.0: Veeam Backup and Replication 12.2 support on Proxmox VEData protectionM
    2025-04Driver 3.4.0: Proxmox VE storage API updateHypervisor integrationU
    2025-08Driver 3.5.0: Debian Trixie and Proxmox VE 9Hypervisor integrationU
    2025-08Core 6.1: cache redesign, NVMe DHCHAP, tenant VLAN binding, CSI topology and raw block volumesPerformanceC
    2025-09Driver 3.6.0: volume import and export for cross-datacentre migrationData protectionC
    2025-10Driver 3.7.0: adaptive iSCSI tuning, host-specific tuning, hardware discoveryOperationsC
    2025-12Driver 3.7.2: Proxmox VE 9.1 API and Veeam v13 on Proxmox VE 8Data protectionM
    2026AMD Zen4 platforms from Dell and Supermicro listed as current hardwareHardwareC
    2026-03Drivers 3.7.4 to 3.7.6: node-restricted storage configuration, client daemon, large-scale optimisationsScaleC
    2026-05Driver 3.7.7: Proxmox VE 9.2 API compatibilityHypervisor integrationU
    • Centre of gravity: Performance (3), Data protection (3), Hypervisor integration (3)
    • Blind spots (no items): Data services, Resilience, Kubernetes, Packaging, Licensing, AI
    • Driver mix: Vision 0%, Customer need 64%, Market window 14%, Upstream 21%, Portfolio 0%
    • Idea-to-need index: 0.00 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)

    Credibility: 12.5 / 25

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Cadence3Dated Proxmox driver releases about every six weeks; core releases undated except 6.1, and none in the 14 months since
    Roadmap transparency1.5Public KB version history for the driver; no roadmap; core release dates not shown
    Say-do3Almost nothing announced ahead; the 2022 NVMe/TCP preview reached GA in core 6.0
    Velocity2.5Core 6.1 carried several items in 2025; 2026 work is driver compatibility and fixes
    Lifecycle stability2.5No support policy published; upgrades documented per driver release; core dates unclear

    Commercial risk: 12.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Price and licence volatility2No public price or history; per TB per month reported by users
    Purchase constraints3Quote only; enterprise NVMe or SSD hardware required
    Channel and access2.5Direct sales only found; KB, guides and driver documentation public; download terms not found
    Owner stability2Small private company since 2010; ownership not disclosed; no acquisition found
    Cost of staying supported2.5Support bundled in the reported per TB per month model; no published windows

    Technical lock-in: 8.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Formats1Standard iSCSI and NVMe/TCP block volumes; VM disks keep the hypervisor format
    Export path1.5Per-volume import and export since driver 3.6.0; hypervisor-level storage migration
    Stack coupling2Needs a Blockbridge system plus a driver on each host, using the supported Proxmox storage API and no extra kernel modules
    Hardware / cloud coupling1.5Any server vendor, but enterprise flash with power-loss protection only
    Skills and tooling coupling2Blockbridge CLI and REST API; small skills pool

    Integrator fit: 9.0 / 20

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Partner programme openness1.5No partner programme found
    Multi-tenancy and self-service3.5Crypto-isolated tenants with a tenant UI, per-tenant networking and VLAN binding
    API and infrastructure-as-code3Documented REST API, CLI, CSI driver and Proxmox driver; no Terraform or Ansible found
    Skills and certification1No training or certification found

    AI leverage: 3.0 / 20

    How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.

    Criterion20192022TodayLatest step
    AI workload infrastructure0012023: 6.0: NVMe/TCP shared block storage usable by GPU hosts; no AI-specific validation
    AI platform stack0002017: None
    AI-assisted operations0002017: None
    Agent openness2222017: Documented REST API and the bb CLI; no MCP server

    Year by year: 2017: 2 · 2018: 2 · 2019: 2 · 2020: 2 · 2021: 2 · 2022: 2 · 2023: 3 · 2024: 3 · 2025: 3 · 2026: 3

    AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 0 AI items announced; 0 GA, 0 still preview, 0 pending, 0 dropped. Blockbridge has announced no AI features.

    Blockbridge has no AI features and has announced none. A documented REST API is the surface an agent could drive.

    Reading

    Blockbridge scores as a disaggregated block store tuned for Proxmox VE: a native plug-in with dated releases about every six weeks, NVMe/TCP since core 6.0, VAAI on vSphere and tenant isolation that suits service providers. It is held back by what the public record leaves out: the redundancy scheme across engines, the failure tolerance, the minimum system and how replication works are undocumented, so resilience and DR stay low with grade C. The core software has had no release since 6.1 on 2025-08-20, and the recent work is all in the Proxmox driver. A buyer should ask for the written redundancy design and failure behaviour before sizing a system.

    Open questions and items to re-score

    • The last core release is 6.1 (2025-08-20); inclusion test 1 is met only by the 3.7.x Proxmox driver releases since 2025-10-20. Re-check for a new core release.
    • Redundancy scheme across engines, failure tolerance, minimum system, capacity limits and replication are not documented.
    • The true dates of 5.1 and 6.0 are unclear; both posts carry a 2023-09-15 timestamp that may be a site migration date.
    • The 2017 first scored year is a judgement; releases 3.0 to 5.0 are undated.
    • Licence, price and the licence of the Proxmox driver package were not found.
    • Supported ESXi and Hyper-V versions are not listed beyond vSphere 7 U3c for NVMe/TCP; the VMware guide cites 2012 to 2018 material.
    • Deduplication, the encryption algorithm and external key management are not stated.

    Related reading

    More from Virtualization Storage Ledger 2026