SeaweedFS: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
An Apache 2.0 store with weekly releases, wide protocol reach and an Iceberg catalog; object lock has no backup-vendor validation and self-healing is paid.
Where SeaweedFS put its effort, 2016 to 2026
Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Object Storage Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.
| ’16 | ’17 | ’18 | ’19 | ’20 | ’21 | ’22 | ’23 | ’24 | ’25 | ’26 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S3 API fidelity | 1 | 1 | 2 | ||||||||
| Immutability and compliance | 1 | ||||||||||
| Durability and resilience | |||||||||||
| Performance and scale | |||||||||||
| Deployment freedom | |||||||||||
| Security and multi-tenancy | 2 | ||||||||||
| Operations | 3 | ||||||||||
| Protocols beyond S3 | 2 | ||||||||||
| Lifecycle and tiering | 3 | 3 | |||||||||
| Ecosystem and openness |
Biggest pushes overall: S3 API fidelity (+4), Lifecycle and tiering (+3.5), Protocols beyond S3 (+3). Already strong in 2015: Ecosystem and openness, Performance and scale, Deployment freedom.
Top focus each year: 2019 S3 API fidelity; 2022 S3 API fidelity; 2026 Immutability and compliance. 8 of 11 years show no gain in any area.
Part of the Object Storage Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.
Snapshot
- Type: product (open source project with a paid Enterprise Edition)
- Owner: the seaweedfs GitHub organisation, an independent Apache-licensed project funded through Patreon and sponsors (README); the Enterprise Edition is sold by SeaweedFS Enterprise, whose legal entity and country were not found
- Licence: Apache 2.0. Enterprise Edition: a licence key added to an existing open source cluster, free for development and test below 25 TB, paid at $2 per TB per month or $20 per TB per year (seaweedfs.com); how the rate applies in production above 25 TB is not stated
- Latest release: 4.48 (2026-09-28)
- Support lifecycle: none published; rolling releases about once a week (4.41 on 2026-08-06 to 4.48 on 2026-09-28). Enterprise support by email, Slack and Telegram with a response within 24 hours on business days
- Next milestone: none published
- Object lock: Retention and legal hold listed in the README; Object Lock fixes in 4.45, 4.46 and 4.48 (releases). Governance and compliance modes were not confirmed in sources read, and no backup-vendor validation was found
- Tier: Open-source software
- Archetype: Dependable builder, open core
- Evidence grade: B. Releases 4.41 to 4.48, the README and the seaweedfs.com Enterprise page were read in October 2026. The releases page shows dates without a year; 2026 is inferred from asset timestamps and the repository push date. Release history from 2015 to 2025 was not read, so the steps before 2026 and their years are inferred (grade C).
Scorecard
| Dimension | Score | Direction |
|---|---|---|
| Capability today | 69.3 / 100 | higher is better |
| Momentum since end of 2022 | +15.3 points (2015 to 2022: +29.3) | higher is better |
| Credibility | 16.0 / 25 | higher is better |
| Commercial risk | 8.0 / 25 | lower is better |
| Technical lock-in | 7.0 / 25 | lower is better |
| Integrator fit | 8.5 / 20 | higher is better |
| AI leverage | 5.0 / 20 | higher is better |
| Ledger Index | 61.6 / 100 | balanced weights; see the methodology |
Capability by domain, 2015 to today
Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.
| Domain (weight) | 2015 | 2019 | 2022 | Today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S3 API fidelity (15) | 0 | 2 | 3 | 4 |
| Immutability and compliance (12) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.5 |
| Durability and resilience (12) | 1.5 | 2.5 | 2.5 | 3 |
| Performance and scale (12) | 3 | 3.5 | 4 | 4 |
| Deployment freedom (10) | 3 | 3.5 | 4 | 4 |
| Security and multi-tenancy (10) | 0.5 | 1.5 | 2.5 | 3 |
| Operations (10) | 1 | 2 | 2 | 3 |
| Protocols beyond S3 (7) | 1 | 3 | 3 | 4 |
| Lifecycle and tiering (7) | 0 | 2 | 3 | 3.5 |
| Ecosystem and openness (5) | 3.5 | 4 | 4 | 4 |
| Total / 100 | 24.7 | 45.4 | 54.0 | 69.3 |
Year by year: 2015: 24.7 · 2016: 24.7 · 2017: 24.7 · 2018: 24.7 · 2019: 45.4 · 2020: 45.4 · 2021: 45.4 · 2022: 54.0 · 2023: 54.0 · 2024: 54.0 · 2025: 54.0 · 2026: 69.3
What moved the score
| Year | Domain | Change | Points | Trigger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Deployment freedom | 3 → 3.5 | +1.0 | Docker images and Helm chart; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Durability and resilience | 1.5 → 2.5 | +2.4 | Erasure coding for warm volumes beside replication for hot data; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Ecosystem and openness | 3.5 → 4 | +0.5 | Apache 2.0 without redistribution limits, outside contributors, Docker, Helm and CSI; few named backup-vendor integrations; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Lifecycle and tiering | 0 → 2 | +2.8 | Warm volumes tiered to cloud storage; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Operations | 1 → 2 | +2.0 | Prometheus metrics and weed shell volume operations; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Performance and scale | 3 → 3.5 | +1.2 | Filer with pluggable metadata stores (PostgreSQL, MySQL, Redis, etcd and others), so metadata scales apart from capacity; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Protocols beyond S3 | 1 → 3 | +2.8 | Filer with FUSE mount, WebDAV and a Hadoop-compatible client; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | S3 API fidelity | 0 → 2 | +6.0 | S3 gateway with buckets, multipart and basic object operations; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2019 | Security and multi-tenancy | 0.5 → 1.5 | +2.0 | S3 access keys with per-bucket actions; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2022 | Deployment freedom | 3.5 → 4 | +1.0 | SeaweedFS Operator and CSI driver; single-binary weed mini for small sites; year approximate (grade C). Arm builds not verified |
| 2022 | Lifecycle and tiering | 2 → 3 | +1.4 | S3 lifecycle expiration rules; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2022 | Performance and scale | 3.5 → 4 | +1.2 | Billions of files claimed by the project; no independent benchmark and no RDMA; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2022 | S3 API fidelity | 2 → 3 | +3.0 | Versioning, lifecycle expiration, tagging, bucket policies and SSE; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2022 | Security and multi-tenancy | 1.5 → 2.5 | +2.0 | IAM API, bucket policies and server-side encryption; year approximate (grade C) |
| 2026 | Durability and resilience | 2.5 → 3 | +1.2 | Enterprise Edition: automatic EC repair, EC bitrot scrub, self-healing storage, custom EC ratio (launch date not found); 4.42 EC rollback and cleanup |
| 2026 | Immutability and compliance | 0 → 2.5 | +6.0 | Retention and legal hold in the README; Object Lock fixes in 4.45, 4.46 and 4.48; first release with Object Lock not established, so the step sits in the first year verified; no backup-vendor validation |
| 2026 | Lifecycle and tiering | 3 → 3.5 | +0.7 | 4.41 bounded lifecycle replay, 4.44 lifecycle editing in the admin UI, 4.47 bucket quotas; no archive class with restore found |
| 2026 | Operations | 2 → 3 | +2.0 | Admin UI with bucket lifecycle editing (4.44) and a visual IAM policy editor (4.45); no published upgrade path or support window |
| 2026 | Protocols beyond S3 | 3 → 4 | +1.4 | Built-in Iceberg REST catalog with S3 Tables and Lance tables (2026); 4.42 Iceberg compare-and-swap commits and vended credentials; SFTP; no NFS or SMB |
| 2026 | S3 API fidelity | 3 → 4 | +3.0 | README lists 73 object and 36 bucket operations, 5 STS operations, SSE-S3, SSE-KMS and SSE-C, S3 Tables; 4.42 RenameObject, 4.48 versioned POST policy uploads |
| 2026 | Security and multi-tenancy | 2.5 → 3 | +1.0 | STS operations in the open source endpoint; Enterprise admin UI with OIDC, multi-tenancy and S3 QoS; 4.47 explicit Deny precedence in bucket policies, attached IAM policies protected from deletion |
Direction, 2023 to 2026
Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).
| Date | Item | Theme | Driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Enterprise Edition by licence key at $2 per TB per month, free for development and test below 25 TB (launch date not found) | Packaging | P |
| 2026-04 | Built-in Iceberg REST catalog and S3 Tables (README; first release not dated) | Protocols | M |
| 2026-04 | README states MinIO ceased development and lists alternatives | Ecosystem | M |
| 2026-08 | 4.41: S3 manifest chunks for large writes, suspended-versioning delete markers, bounded lifecycle replay | S3 API | C |
| 2026-08 | 4.42: master heartbeat overhaul, EC rollback and cleanup, S3 RenameObject, Iceberg compare-and-swap commits | Durability | C |
| 2026-08 | 4.43: Lance catalog, Rust plugin worker, Go 1.26 support | AI | V |
| 2026-08 | 4.44: bucket lifecycle editing in the admin UI | Operations | C |
| 2026-08 | 4.45: visual IAM policy editor; Object Lock covers directory-marker keys | Immutability | C |
| 2026-09 | 4.46: Object Lock on directory-marker keys; Docker images signed with cosign | Security | C |
| 2026-09 | 4.47: bucket quota extension, explicit Deny precedence, attached IAM policies protected from deletion | Security | C |
| 2026-09 | 4.48: Object Lock configuration permission and version deletes, versioned POST policy uploads, EC fixes | Immutability | C |
- Centre of gravity: Immutability (2), Security (2), Packaging (1)
- Blind spots (no items): Performance, Deployment, Lifecycle, Licensing
- Driver mix: Vision 9%, Customer need 64%, Market window 18%, Upstream 0%, Portfolio 9%
- Idea-to-need index: 0.10 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)
Credibility: 16.0 / 25
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Cadence | 4 | Tagged releases about once a week in August and September 2026; no published rhythm |
| Roadmap transparency | 3 | Public release notes and an open issue tracker; no roadmap page |
| Say-do | 3 | No dated promises to test; features appear in release notes when they ship |
| Velocity | 4 | Several items per release in 4.41 to 4.48, many of them fixes |
| Lifecycle stability | 2 | Rolling versions with no support window; each fix means moving to the newest build |
Commercial risk: 8.0 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Price and licence volatility | 1 | Apache 2.0 with no relicensing found; Enterprise price of $2 per TB per month read in 2026, launch date and earlier prices not found |
| Purchase constraints | 1.5 | Open source build needs no purchase; Enterprise free below 25 TB for development and test, terms for production above that not stated |
| Channel and access | 1 | Open download through GitHub, Docker and Helm; Enterprise by licence key and EULA |
| Owner stability | 2.5 | Funded through Patreon and four gold sponsors (README); the legal entity and country behind SeaweedFS Enterprise were not found |
| Cost of staying supported | 2 | No support window; EC repair, bitrot scrub and self-healing are Enterprise-only; weekly releases mean frequent upgrades |
Technical lock-in: 7.0 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Formats | 2 | Append-only volume files that need SeaweedFS to read; filer metadata in a standard database |
| Export path | 1 | S3, FUSE mount, WebDAV, SFTP and HDFS; data copies out with standard tools |
| Stack coupling | 2 | Master, volume servers, filer and S3 gateway, plus a metadata store to run |
| Hardware / cloud coupling | 0 | Any hardware |
| Skills and tooling coupling | 2 | SeaweedFS-specific operations and weed shell; smaller skills pool than Ceph |
Integrator fit: 8.5 / 20
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Partner programme openness | 1.5 | No partner programme found; Apache 2.0 lets integrators package and support it freely |
| Multi-tenancy and self-service | 2.5 | IAM and STS in the open source build; multi-tenancy and S3 QoS are Enterprise features (vendor page) |
| API and infrastructure-as-code | 3 | Helm, Operator, CSI driver and admin API; Terraform provider not found |
| Skills and certification | 1.5 | No training or certification found |
AI leverage: 5.0 / 20
How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.
| Criterion | 2019 | 2022 | Today | Latest step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI workload support | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2015: S3 and FUSE access usable as a training data source; no GPUDirect or RDMA found |
| AI platform stack | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2026: Built-in Iceberg REST catalog with compaction, snapshot expiry and orphan file removal, S3 Tables and Lance tables (README; maturity not stated) |
| AI-assisted operations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2015: None |
| Agent openness | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2015: HTTP, filer and S3 APIs that agents can drive; no MCP server found |
Year by year: 2015: 3 · 2016: 3 · 2017: 3 · 2018: 3 · 2019: 3 · 2020: 3 · 2021: 3 · 2022: 3 · 2023: 3 · 2024: 3 · 2025: 3 · 2026: 5
AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 2 AI items announced; 2 GA, 0 still preview, 0 pending, 0 dropped. The Iceberg catalog with S3 Tables and the Lance catalog appear in the README and release notes as shipped features; no dated AI announcement exists.
SeaweedFS adds AI-adjacent data formats to the store itself: an Iceberg catalog and Lance tables, both shipped without a launch announcement. It has no GPU data path, no AI in its own operations and no agent interface beyond its APIs.
Reading
SeaweedFS scores well on protocols and deployment because one Apache 2.0 code base serves S3, FUSE, WebDAV, SFTP, HDFS clients and an Iceberg catalog, from a single binary up to a Kubernetes Operator. Immutability is held to 2.5 because Object Lock has no backup-vendor validation on record and was still being fixed in three of the eight releases since August 2026; durability is held to 3 because automatic EC repair, bitrot scrub and self-healing sit in the paid Enterprise Edition. Credibility rests on a weekly release rhythm with no support windows, and the scores before 2026 are inferred because the older release history was not read. A buyer planning it as a backup target should test object lock with their own backup software and get SeaweedFS Enterprise's production price and support terms in writing.
Open questions and items to re-score
- First release with an S3 gateway and first release with Object Lock; whether both governance and compliance modes are supported.
- Backup-vendor validation (Veeam, Proxmox Backup Server, others): none found.
- Enterprise Edition launch date, legal entity, country, and the production price above 25 TB.
- Release history from 2015 to 2025 was not read; the years of the earlier steps are approximate.
- Arm builds and the failure behaviour of the filer metadata store at scale were not verified.
- The releases page shows dates without a year; 2026 is inferred.
Related reading
More from Object Storage Ledger 2026
- Overview: all platforms side by side
- Object Storage Ledger Methodology: How Every Score Is Built
- Ceph RGW: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Cloudian HyperStore: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- DataCore Swarm: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Dell ObjectScale: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Everpure FlashBlade: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Hitachi HCP: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- IBM COS on-prem: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- IBM Storage Ceph: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- MinIO AIStor: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- MinIO CE: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- NetApp StorageGRID: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- NooBaa: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Nutanix Objects: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- OpenShift ODF: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Quantum ActiveScale: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Qumulo: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- RustFS: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Scality ARTESCA: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Scality RING: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- VAST Data: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Versity S3 Gateway: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Zenko CloudServer: Object Storage Ledger 2026 Scorecard