Mr.PlanB Logo
    Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026
    Ledger
    Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026

    Anolis OS: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard

    Anolis OS pairs RHEL-compatible 7 and 8 lines with an independent 23 line aimed at Chinese CPUs, with lifecycle dates published only by Alibaba Cloud.

    Edition October 16, 20267 min read

    Where Anolis OS put its effort, 2021 to 2026

    Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Enterprise Linux Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.

    ’21’22’23’24’25’26
    Lifecycle and upgrades1
    Security and compliance1
    Hardware and architectures22
    Virtualization and cloud images
    Containers and Kubernetes host
    Software currency and packaging3
    Fleet management and automation
    Storage and filesystems
    Enterprise integration and certifications2
    AI and GPU readiness1
    no change+0.5+1+1.5 or moreScores out of 5 per area.

    Biggest pushes overall: Hardware and architectures (+1), AI and GPU readiness (+1), Lifecycle and upgrades (+0.5). Already strong in 2020: Hardware and architectures, Storage and filesystems, Virtualization and cloud images.

    Top focus each year: 2024 AI and GPU readiness; 2025 Lifecycle and upgrades; 2026 Security and compliance. 3 of 6 years show no gain in any area.

    Part of the Enterprise Linux Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.

    Snapshot

    • Type: community project
    • Owner: OpenAnolis community (council, technical committee, operations committee; 1,000 or more member organisations claimed), founded in 2020 with Alibaba Cloud among the founding members
    • Engine: RHEL-compatible package base for the 7 and 8 lines; the 23 line has its own package base and kernel 6.6
    • Licence: Open source, free download; no subscription from the community; the licence terms of the distribution are not stated on the pages read
    • Latest release: 23.5, kernel 6.6.102-6 (mirror folders dated 2026-06-09 to 2026-07-10; community article 2026-07-22); 8.10 (ISO files dated 2025-04-01)
    • Support lifecycle: Not published on the project pages read; the 8 line follows RHEL 8 point releases
    • Next milestone: Anolis OS 23.6, discussed at the May 2026 committee meeting without a date read
    • Support window: Not published by the project; Alibaba Cloud's lifecycle page lists Anolis OS 8 support to 2031-03-31 and Anolis OS 7 ended 2024-06-30; no dates for the 23 line
    • Tier: Asian distribution
    • Archetype: Sponsor-led innovator
    • Evidence grade: C. The community home page, the project mirror, the Docker Hub image and Alibaba Cloud's documentation were read from primary sources. Release dates come from mirror timestamps and dated community articles on Alibaba's developer site; no release notes, lifecycle policy or errata process could be read.

    Scope of the scores: China-led community project whose releases and governance are documented in Chinese, largely on Alibaba's developer site. English pages returned 404 on 2026-10-15, so dates rest on mirror timestamps and article dates.

    Scorecard

    DimensionScoreDirection
    Capability today50.0 / 100higher is better
    Momentum since end of 2022+8.5 points (2020 to 2022: +0.0)higher is better
    Credibility13.0 / 25higher is better
    Sustainability risk11.0 / 25lower is better
    Technical lock-in9.0 / 25lower is better
    Integrator fit5.5 / 20higher is better
    AI leverage2.5 / 20higher is better
    Ledger Index46.0 / 100balanced weights; see the methodology

    Capability by domain, 2015 to today

    Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.

    Domain (weight)201520192022Today
    Lifecycle and upgrades (15)n/an/a22.5
    Security and compliance (15)n/an/a22.5
    Hardware and architectures (10)n/an/a34
    Virtualization and cloud images (10)n/an/a2.52.5
    Containers and Kubernetes host (10)n/an/a2.52.5
    Software currency and packaging (10)n/an/a2.53
    Fleet management and automation (10)n/an/a1.51.5
    Storage and filesystems (5)n/an/a33
    Enterprise integration and certifications (5)n/an/a1.52
    AI and GPU readiness (10)n/an/a0.51.5
    Total / 100n/an/a41.550.0

    Year by year: 2020: 41.5 · 2021: 41.5 · 2022: 41.5 · 2023: 41.5 · 2024: 44.0 · 2025: 46.5 · 2026: 50.0

    What moved the score

    YearDomainChangePointsTrigger
    2024AI and GPU readiness0.5 → 1.5+2.0epao repository with NVIDIA driver and CUDA packages, named in Alibaba Cloud Linux 3 documentation; first availability date not verified
    2024Enterprise integration and certifications1.5 → 2+0.5Second OpenAnolis conference (2024-09): 8 million installations and 1,000 or more member organisations; no AD, SAP or Oracle certification read
    2025Hardware and architectures3 → 3.5+1.023.3 (2025-07): RISC-V preview, half step
    2025Lifecycle and upgrades2 → 2.5+1.58.10 (ISO 2025-04-01) completes the 8 line; Alibaba Cloud lists support to 2031-03-31; the project publishes no dates and the 23 line has none
    2026Hardware and architectures3.5 → 4+1.023.5: RISC-V RVA23 and LoongArch64 builds; Hygon, Zhaoxin KH-50000 and Kunpeng 950 support; no hardware catalogue read
    2026Security and compliance2 → 2.5+1.523.5: over one hundred high-severity fixes; confidential computing and commercial cryptography compliance named on the site; errata feed not found
    2026Software currency and packaging2.5 → 3+1.023.5: kernel 6.6.102-6; 147 new packages and JDK 25 reported at the May 2026 committee meeting

    Direction, 2023 to 2026

    Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).

    DateItemThemeDriver
    2023-06Anolis OS 23 reaches GA testing (bug tracker tags; exact release date not found)LifecycleV
    2024-0323.1 GA (bug tracker tags)LifecycleU
    2024-09Second OpenAnolis conference: AI-native operating system route with three plans; 8 million installationsAIV
    2025-048.10: ANCK and RHCK kernels; final 8 point releaseLifecycleU
    2025-0723.3 with RISC-V previewHardwareV
    2025-1123.4 release candidate (bug tracker)LifecycleU
    2026-05Committee meeting: CXL SIG project open sourced; AI Agent ecosystem push; 23.6 planningGovernanceV
    2026-0723.5: three domestic CPU platforms, RISC-V RVA23, DDE upgrade, over one hundred high-severity fixesHardwareC
    • Centre of gravity: Lifecycle (4), Hardware (2), AI (1)
    • Blind spots (no items): Security, Virtualization and cloud, Containers, Packaging, Fleet management, Storage, Enterprise integration, Licensing
    • Driver mix: Vision 50%, Customer need 13%, Market window 0%, Upstream 38%, Portfolio 0%
    • Idea-to-need index: 0.80 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)

    Credibility: 13.0 / 25

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Cadence323.x point releases about yearly (23.3 in 2025-07, 23.5 in 2026-07) and 8.x following RHEL; no schedule published
    Roadmap transparency2Announcements appear as articles on Alibaba's developer site and an open bug tracker; no English pages, no lifecycle policy found
    Say-do2.5Little is announced ahead of release; 23.6 timing was discussed in committee and cannot be checked; RISC-V went from preview (23.3) to RVA23 builds (23.5) in a year
    Velocity323.5 added three CPU platforms, RVA23 and 147 packages in one release
    Lifecycle stability2.5Anolis 7 ended 2024-06-30 and 8 runs to 2031-03-31 on Alibaba Cloud's table; the 23 line has no published window

    Sustainability risk: 11.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Maintainer concentration3.5Alibaba Cloud co-founded the community and builds its own distribution on Anolis; the share of commits by company is not published
    Backer health2Alibaba Cloud Linux 2 and 3 are built on Anolis 7 and 8, which ties the sponsor's product to the project; 1,000 or more member organisations claimed
    Licence-change risk1.5Packages keep upstream licences; the distribution's own licence terms were not stated on the pages read
    Abandonment signs123.5 in 2026-07, 8.10 in 2025-04 and monthly committee meetings
    Security response3Fix counts are published per release; no advisory feed or CVE response times found

    Technical lock-in: 9.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Formats1RPM, qcow2 and OCI images
    Export path1.57 and 8 are RHEL compatible, so moving to another EL distribution is a package swap; the 23 line diverges
    Stack coupling1Any storage and standard Linux networking
    Hardware / cloud coupling2.5Strongest on Chinese CPUs and Alibaba Cloud; x86-64 and AArch64 supported
    Skills and tooling coupling3Skills and documentation concentrated in China; EL skills transfer to the 7 and 8 lines

    Integrator fit: 5.5 / 20

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Partner programme openness2Membership open to organisations; resale and support terms not found
    Multi-tenancy and self-service0.5Nothing in the OS beyond standard Linux accounts
    API and infrastructure-as-code2Standard EL tooling; no vendor API
    Skills and certification1No certification programme found

    AI leverage: 2.5 / 20

    How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.

    Criterion20192022TodayLatest step
    AI workload supportn/a0.51.52024: epao repository with NVIDIA driver and CUDA packages, named in Alibaba Cloud Linux 3 documentation; first availability date not verified
    AI platform stackn/a002020: None
    AI-assisted operationsn/a002020: None
    Agent opennessn/a112020: Standard Linux APIs; SkillHub and OSCopilot are linked from the community site without release notes

    Year by year: 2020: 1.5 · 2021: 1.5 · 2022: 1.5 · 2023: 1.5 · 2024: 2.5 · 2025: 2.5 · 2026: 2.5

    AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 3 AI items announced; 0 GA, 0 still preview, 3 pending, 0 dropped. The AI-native route with three plans (2024-09), the AI Agent ecosystem push (2026-05) and the OSCopilot and SkillHub links could not be matched to a released feature.

    OpenAnolis calls itself an AI-native operating system community, and the one AI fact that could be verified is a community repository with NVIDIA driver and CUDA packages used by Alibaba Cloud Linux 3. Nothing else, including the OSCopilot assistant, could be traced to a release.

    Reading

    Anolis OS is two distributions under one name: a RHEL-compatible 8 line that Alibaba Cloud builds its own product on, and a 23 line that moves fast on Chinese CPUs and RISC-V. The scores are held back by what cannot be read rather than by what ships: no lifecycle policy, no advisory feed and no English release notes were found, so lifecycle, security and credibility sit near the middle of the scale. The sustainability risk is the sponsor: the project's health follows Alibaba Cloud's interest in it. A buyer should first obtain the support end date for the 23 line in writing, because no page read here states one.

    Open questions and items to re-score

    • Release dates for 23.x and 8.10 rest on mirror timestamps and article dates (grade C).
    • Lifecycle windows are published only by Alibaba Cloud (8 to 2031-03-31); the project's own policy and the 23 line dates were not found.
    • Security errata process and CVE response times not found.
    • Legal form of OpenAnolis and the licence terms of the distribution not stated on the pages read.
    • The epao GPU repository's first availability date and current contents not verified.
    • OSCopilot, SkillHub and the three AI plans from 2024-09 have no release record that could be read.

    Related reading

    More from Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026