Azure Linux: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
Azure Linux is Microsoft's small container host for AKS, free and patched monthly, with no public lifecycle page and a 4.0 rebuild on Fedora under way.
Where Azure Linux put its effort, 2021 to 2026
Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Enterprise Linux Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.
| ’21 | ’22 | ’23 | ’24 | ’25 | ’26 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lifecycle and upgrades | ||||||
| Security and compliance | 1 | |||||
| Hardware and architectures | 3 | 1 | ||||
| Virtualization and cloud images | 1 | |||||
| Containers and Kubernetes host | 3 | 2 | ||||
| Software currency and packaging | 2 | |||||
| Fleet management and automation | 1 | |||||
| Storage and filesystems | ||||||
| Enterprise integration and certifications | ||||||
| AI and GPU readiness | 2 | 3 |
Biggest pushes overall: AI and GPU readiness (+2), Containers and Kubernetes host (+1.5), Fleet management and automation (+1.5). Already strong in 2020: Containers and Kubernetes host, Security and compliance, Storage and filesystems.
Top focus each year: 2023 Fleet management and automation; 2024 Virtualization and cloud images; 2025 Security and compliance; 2026 Hardware and architectures. 2 of 6 years show no gain in any area.
Part of the Enterprise Linux Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.
Snapshot
- Type: product
- Owner: Microsoft Corporation (public company)
- Licence: MIT for the distribution repository, package licences vary; no extra cost on AKS; Microsoft support through Azure support plans for the AKS container host; ISO installs are community supported
- Latest release: 3.0.20260923 (2026-10-01): kernel 6.6.157, HWE kernel 6.18.48, containerd 2.3.4, shim 16.1 dual signed; 4.0 in development with a beta base image
- Support lifecycle: Not published; on AKS each Kubernetes version maps to a default major (2.0 for 1.27 to 1.31, 3.0 for 1.32 and later); 2.0 lost support on 2025-11-30 and its node images are removed on 2026-10-31
- Next milestone: Azure Linux 4.0 GA (no date published); Azure Linux with OS Guard preview retires on 2026-12-10 in favour of Azure Container Linux
- Support window: Not stated on a public page; 2.0 lost support on 2025-11-30 (source: AKS operating system version page)
- Tier: Cloud vendor distribution
- Archetype: Integrated stack inside AKS
- Evidence grade: B. The GitHub repository and release feed, the Azure Linux overview and FAQ, the AKS operating system version page, the AKS FIPS page and the Azure Container Linux overview were read from primary sources. The 3.0 GA date (2024-08), the AKS GA date (2025-04-01) and the 2024 rename come from search snippets of Microsoft posts and press coverage; the pre-2023 history and the support lifecycle are inferred because no lifecycle page exists.
Scope of the scores: Azure Linux's support lifecycle was not found on a public page. The scores use the AKS operating system version page, which retires each major with a Kubernetes version rather than on a published date, and the GitHub release feed.
Scorecard
| Dimension | Score | Direction |
|---|---|---|
| Capability today | 52.5 / 100 | higher is better |
| Momentum since end of 2022 | +21.0 points (2020 to 2022: +0.0) | higher is better |
| Credibility | 16.0 / 25 | higher is better |
| Commercial risk | 7.5 / 25 | lower is better |
| Technical lock-in | 10.5 / 25 | lower is better |
| Integrator fit | 11.0 / 20 | higher is better |
| AI leverage | 3.5 / 20 | higher is better |
| Ledger Index | 56.2 / 100 | balanced weights; see the methodology |
Capability by domain, 2015 to today
Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.
| Domain (weight) | 2015 | 2019 | 2022 | Today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lifecycle and upgrades (15) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2 |
| Security and compliance (15) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 3 |
| Hardware and architectures (10) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2.5 |
| Virtualization and cloud images (10) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2.5 |
| Containers and Kubernetes host (10) | n/a | n/a | 2.5 | 4 |
| Software currency and packaging (10) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2.5 |
| Fleet management and automation (10) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 3 |
| Storage and filesystems (5) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 2 |
| Enterprise integration and certifications (5) | n/a | n/a | 1 | 1.5 |
| AI and GPU readiness (10) | n/a | n/a | 0.5 | 2.5 |
| Total / 100 | n/a | n/a | 31.5 | 52.5 |
Year by year: 2020: 31.5 · 2021: 31.5 · 2022: 31.5 · 2023: 43.0 · 2024: 48.0 · 2025: 51.5 · 2026: 52.5
What moved the score
| Year | Domain | Change | Points | Trigger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | AI and GPU readiness | 0.5 → 2 | +3.0 | AKS GA: NVIDIA GPU VM sizes supported on Azure Linux node pools |
| 2023 | Containers and Kubernetes host | 2.5 → 3.5 | +2.0 | GA as the AKS container host (2023-05-23) with containerd |
| 2023 | Enterprise integration and certifications | 1 → 1.5 | +0.5 | AKS GA: Entra ID and Azure RBAC through AKS, nothing in the OS |
| 2023 | Fleet management and automation | 1.5 → 3 | +3.0 | AKS GA: node image auto-upgrade channels and OS SKU updates per node pool |
| 2023 | Lifecycle and upgrades | 1.5 → 2 | +1.5 | GA as the AKS container host (2023-05-23): weekly node images; a move between majors is a node pool reimage |
| 2023 | Security and compliance | 2 → 2.5 | +1.5 | AKS GA: CIS Level 1 benchmark pass and a FIPS image (vendor claims) |
| 2024 | Hardware and architectures | 1.5 → 2 | +1.0 | 3.0 (2024-08): kernel 6.6 base, x86_64 and ARM64 |
| 2024 | Software currency and packaging | 1.5 → 2.5 | +2.0 | 3.0 (2024-08): refreshed toolchain and package set; monthly dated releases |
| 2024 | Virtualization and cloud images | 1.5 → 2.5 | +2.0 | 3.0: libvirt, QEMU and KubeVirt packages; images for Azure Local and Arc; Hyper-V and KVM ISO with community support |
| 2025 | AI and GPU readiness | 2 → 2.5 | +1.0 | 3.0: all NVIDIA GPU SKUs on AKS supported (FAQ) |
| 2025 | Containers and Kubernetes host | 3.5 → 4 | +1.0 | 3.0 GA on AKS 1.32 (2025-04-01): default Azure Linux for Kubernetes 1.32 and later |
| 2025 | Security and compliance | 2.5 → 3 | +1.5 | 3.0 on AKS 1.32 (2025-04-01): FIPS 140-3 node pools for Azure Linux 3.0; monthly CVE releases |
| 2026 | Hardware and architectures | 2 → 2.5 | +1.0 | 3.0.20260923: HWE kernel 6.18 beside the 6.6 kernel |
Direction, 2023 to 2026
Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).
| Date | Item | Theme | Driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-05 | Azure Linux GA as the AKS container host (2023-05-23) | Containers | P |
| 2024-03 | CBL-Mariner tooling and repository renamed Azure Linux (secondary source) | Governance | P |
| 2024-08 | Azure Linux 3.0 GA with kernel 6.6 | Packaging | U |
| 2025-04 | 3.0 GA on AKS 1.32, default for Kubernetes 1.32 and later | Containers | P |
| 2025-11 | Azure Linux 2.0 retired on AKS (2025-11-30) | Lifecycle | P |
| 2025-11 | Flatcar Container Linux for AKS enters preview | Containers | V |
| 2026-04 | Azure Container Linux GA on AKS 1.34: Flatcar base with Azure Linux packages and signed unified kernel images | Containers | V |
| 2026-05 | Monthly build with kernel CVE patches (CopyFail and others) | Security | C |
| 2026-05 | Azure Linux 4.0 preview, Fedora derived, for general Azure VMs (secondary source; GitHub lists 4.0 as in development) | Lifecycle | V |
| 2026-08 | AKS announces retirement of Azure Linux with OS Guard (preview) for 2026-12-10 | Security | P |
| 2026-10 | 3.0.20260923: HWE kernel 6.18, shim 16.1 dual signed, containerd 2.3.4 | Hardware | U |
- Centre of gravity: Containers (4), Lifecycle (2), Security (2)
- Blind spots (no items): Virtualization and cloud, Fleet management, Storage, Enterprise integration, AI, Licensing
- Driver mix: Vision 27%, Customer need 9%, Market window 0%, Upstream 18%, Portfolio 45%
- Idea-to-need index: 0.75 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)
Credibility: 16.0 / 25
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Cadence | 4.5 | Monthly dated 3.0 releases on GitHub and weekly AKS node images |
| Roadmap transparency | 3.5 | Public GitHub feature roadmap board and release feed; 4.0 has no date |
| Say-do | 3 | 3.0 went from AKS preview on 1.31 to GA on 1.32 as stated; the Flatcar for AKS and OS Guard previews were retired rather than taken to GA |
| Velocity | 3 | Kernel lines, FIPS and HWE kernels arrived; most releases are package and CVE refreshes |
| Lifecycle stability | 2 | Renamed in 2024, 2.0 retired 2025-11-30 without a published table, 4.0 moves the base to Fedora, OS Guard retires 2026-12 |
Commercial risk: 7.5 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Price and licence volatility | 0.5 | No charge on AKS; nothing to change |
| Purchase constraints | 1 | Free; Microsoft support only inside Azure support plans and only for the AKS container host |
| Channel and access | 1.5 | Open source on GitHub; supported use is on Azure; ISO installs are community supported |
| Owner stability | 1.5 | Microsoft is stable; its Linux strategy shifted three times since 2023 (rename, Fedora base, Flatcar derived Azure Container Linux) |
| Cost of staying supported | 3 | Majors retire with Kubernetes versions; 2.0 lost support after about three years with images removed 11 months later |
Technical lock-in: 10.5 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Formats | 1 | RPM, VHD, ISO and OCI base images |
| Export path | 2 | Not binary compatible with RHEL or any Fedora release; on AKS a node pool OS SKU change moves workloads off in one step |
| Stack coupling | 2.5 | Built around Azure agents, AKS add-ons and Arc |
| Hardware / cloud coupling | 3.5 | Supported only on Azure; about 400 packages tuned for AKS |
| Skills and tooling coupling | 1.5 | RPM and systemd skills transfer; the build toolchain is Azure specific |
Integrator fit: 11.0 / 20
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Partner programme openness | 1.5 | No Azure Linux programme; the Microsoft partner programme in general |
| Multi-tenancy and self-service | 2.5 | AKS and Azure subscriptions provide tenancy |
| API and infrastructure-as-code | 4 | AKS API, Azure CLI, Bicep and Terraform |
| Skills and certification | 3 | Azure certifications; nothing Linux specific |
AI leverage: 3.5 / 20
How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.
| Criterion | 2019 | 2022 | Today | Latest step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI workload support | n/a | 0.5 | 2.5 | 2025: All NVIDIA GPU SKUs on AKS; sharing and scheduling come from AKS and the GPU operator |
| AI platform stack | n/a | 0 | 0 | 2020: None |
| AI-assisted operations | n/a | 0 | 0 | 2020: None |
| Agent openness | n/a | 1 | 1 | 2020: Azure and AKS APIs; nothing specific to the OS |
Year by year: 2020: 1.5 · 2021: 1.5 · 2022: 1.5 · 2023: 3 · 2024: 3 · 2025: 3.5 · 2026: 3.5
AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 1 AI items announced; 1 GA, 0 still preview, 0 pending, 0 dropped. The one item is GPU VM size coverage on AKS; no AI feature of the OS itself was announced.
Azure Linux runs NVIDIA GPU nodes on AKS, and that is the extent of its AI content. The distribution ships no AI stack, no assistant and no agent interface; those live in Azure services above it.
Reading
Azure Linux is a competent, small and well patched node OS for AKS, and a weak general-purpose distribution. Its scores are capped by what is missing on a public page: a support lifecycle, a hardware list, and any supported path outside Azure. Microsoft's own direction adds uncertainty: 4.0 moves the base to Fedora, the OS Guard preview is being retired, and the new Azure Container Linux is built on Flatcar rather than on the Azure Linux image model. A buyer should ask Microsoft for a written lifecycle for 3.0 and 4.0 before standardising on it beyond AKS defaults. Inside AKS it costs nothing extra and follows the Kubernetes cadence automatically.
Open questions and items to re-score
- Support lifecycle table for Azure Linux 2.0, 3.0 and 4.0: the lifecycle page returned 404; only the AKS retirement of 2.0 (2025-11-30) is on record.
- Azure Linux 3.0 GA (2024-08), the 2024 rename and the 2026-05 4.0 preview are from secondary sources (grade B); 2020 to 2022 CBL-Mariner history is background knowledge and scored low on purpose.
- FIPS 140-3 certificate numbers for the Azure Linux 3.0 modules and the CIS Level 1 result are vendor claims on the FAQ.
- Relationship between Azure Linux 4.0, Azure Container Linux (Flatcar derived) and the retiring OS Guard variant: which image model Microsoft will support long term is not stated.
- Reliability of community support for the ISO outside Azure, and whether Hyper-V and KVM installs receive the same monthly updates.
Related reading
More from Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026
- Overview: all platforms side by side
- Enterprise Linux Ledger Methodology: How Every Score Is Built
- AlmaLinux: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Amazon Linux 2023: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Anolis OS: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Bottlerocket: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- CentOS Stream: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- CloudLinux OS: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Debian: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Flatcar: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- openEuler: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- openSUSE Leap: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Oracle Linux: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- RHEL: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Rocky Linux: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- SLES: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Ubuntu Server: Enterprise Linux Ledger 2026 Scorecard