Mr.PlanB Logo
    Firewall and Router Ledger 2026
    Ledger
    Firewall and Router Ledger 2026

    Netgate TNSR: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard

    TNSR is a VPP router with BGP, OSPF and IPsec at line rate on commodity x86, a stateful firewall since 2025 and no threat, web or captive portal layer.

    Edition October 16, 20267 min read

    Where TNSR put its effort, 2019 to 2026

    Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Firewall and Router Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.

    ’19’20’21’22’23’24’25’26
    Routing and WAN22
    Firewall and NAT core11
    VPN and remote access1
    Threat protection1
    Network services
    Platform and hypervisor freedom13
    High availability and performance31
    Management, API and automation
    Observability
    Platform security and lifecycle
    no change+0.5+1+1.5 or moreScores out of 5 per area.

    Biggest pushes overall: Firewall and NAT core (+2), Threat protection (+2), High availability and performance (+1.5). Already strong in 2018: Routing and WAN, Management, API and automation, Platform security and lifecycle.

    Top focus each year: 2019 Firewall and NAT core; 2020 Platform and hypervisor freedom; 2021 VPN and remote access; 2022 Threat protection; 2025 Firewall and NAT core; 2026 High availability and performance. 2 of 8 years show no gain in any area.

    Part of the Firewall and Router Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.

    Snapshot

    • Type: product
    • Owner: Rubicon Communications, LLC, trading as Netgate (Austin, US; private); the same company owns pfSense
    • Engine: FD.io VPP dataplane with DPDK; FRRouting for dynamic routing, strongSwan for IPsec, Clixon for configuration, Snort for IDS and IPS; Ubuntu base since 21.11
    • Licence: Proprietary with open-source components; per-instance annual subscription with TAC support and no throughput or feature limits. 2020 list price USD 499 (TAC Pro) or USD 899 (TAC Enterprise) per instance per year; no current public price. Home+Lab free non-commercial edition launched 2020-09-10, current status unconfirmed
    • Latest release: 26.02 (2026-03-03); point releases 26.02.1 and 26.02.2 (dates not stated)
    • Support lifecycle: No published support or end-of-life policy; releases about every four months; upgrade path documented per release; no LTS branch
    • Next milestone: none published
    • Security record: 0 CISA KEV entries since 2023 (vendor Netgate absent from the catalogue). Advisories: https://www.netgate.com/security
    • Hypervisors: VMware ESXi (since 18.11); Proxmox VE and KVM/QEMU through a documented router-for-VMs recipe with vhost-user interfaces; a bare metal image for most x86 virtual environments; AWS and Azure Marketplace; Hyper-V, XCP-ng, GCP and ARM not found; Secure Boot must be disabled
    • Tier: Router operating system
    • Archetype: Narrow specialist
    • Evidence grade: B. The 26.02 release post and the 26.02.2 release notes, the releases index, the pricing page, the 2020 pricing press release, the Proxmox and KVM recipe and the KEV check were read from Netgate pages and the CISA catalogue. Release notes for 19.x to 25.x were not read, so the years of the firewall, WireGuard and IDS steps are estimates and are flagged. The platform page was read through a search summary only.

    Scorecard

    DimensionScoreDirection
    Capability today61.2 / 100higher is better
    Momentum since end of 2022+4.0 points (2018 to 2022: +14.8)higher is better
    Credibility13.0 / 25higher is better
    Commercial risk13.5 / 25lower is better
    Technical lock-in9.0 / 25lower is better
    Integrator fit7.5 / 20higher is better
    AI leverage2.0 / 20higher is better
    Ledger Index48.6 / 100balanced weights; see the methodology

    Capability by domain, 2015 to today

    Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.

    Domain (weight)201520192022Today
    Routing and WAN (12)n/a3.544
    Firewall and NAT core (12)n/a223
    VPN and remote access (12)n/a233
    Threat protection (12)n/a022
    Network services (8)n/a2.52.52.5
    Platform and hypervisor freedom (10)n/a2.53.53.5
    High availability and performance (8)n/a334
    Management, API and automation (10)n/a333
    Observability (6)n/a2.52.52.5
    Platform security and lifecycle (10)n/a333
    Total / 100n/a46.857.261.2

    Year by year: 2018: 42.4 · 2019: 46.8 · 2020: 47.8 · 2021: 50.2 · 2022: 57.2 · 2023: 57.2 · 2024: 57.2 · 2025: 59.6 · 2026: 61.2

    What moved the score

    YearDomainChangePointsTrigger
    2019Firewall and NAT core1 → 2+2.419.x: NAT44 with ACL filtering (year grade C)
    2019High availability and performance2.5 → 3+0.819.x: VRRP high availability (year grade C)
    2019Routing and WAN3 → 3.5+1.219.x: OSPFv3, VRFs and RPKI for BGP (year grade C)
    2020Platform and hypervisor freedom2.5 → 3+1.020.x: AWS and Azure Marketplace images (year grade C)
    2021VPN and remote access2 → 3+2.4WireGuard tunnels, route-based (release not read; year from editor knowledge); no OpenVPN, SSL VPN client or MFA
    2022Platform and hypervisor freedom3 → 3.5+1.0Proxmox VE and KVM/QEMU recipe with vhost-user interfaces (year grade C); VPP and DPDK acceleration; no ARM, Hyper-V or GCP; Secure Boot off
    2022Routing and WAN3.5 → 4+1.222.x: IS-IS, MAP and BGP policy depth (year grade C); no SD-WAN path selection, MPLS or EVPN found
    2022Threat protection0 → 2+4.8Snort IDS and IPS with rule updates (release not read; dossier places it by 2022); no TLS inspection, web or DNS filtering, feeds or sandbox
    2025Firewall and NAT core2 → 3+2.4VPF stateful firewall with state tracking and NAT (documented by 25.10; release that introduced it not read); no application or identity rules
    2026High availability and performance3 → 4+1.626.02: VPF firewall state sync between HA peers with heartbeat resync; no active-active clustering; QoS limited to policers

    Direction, 2023 to 2026

    Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).

    DateItemThemeDriver
    2025-1025.10: release in the four-monthly rhythm; VPF stateful firewall and NAT documented by this release (release notes not read)Firewall coreC
    2026-0326.02: VPF HA state sync with heartbeat resyncHigh availabilityC
    2026-0326.02: VPP stable/2510 and DPDK 25.07, new hardware supportPlatformU
    2026-0326.02: VPF statistics filtersObservabilityC
    2026-0326.02: prefix-list sequence renumbering to match FRRoutingRoutingU
    2026-1026.02.1 and 26.02.2 (current by October 2026, dates not stated): fixes for a buffer leak with large MTU, a dataplane crash during packet capture and VPF HA heartbeat parsingSecurity and lifecycleC
    • Centre of gravity: Firewall core (1), High availability (1), Platform (1)
    • Blind spots (no items): VPN, Threat protection, Network services, Management and API, Packaging, Licensing, AI
    • Driver mix: Vision 0%, Customer need 67%, Market window 0%, Upstream 33%, Portfolio 0%
    • Idea-to-need index: 0.00 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)

    Credibility: 13.0 / 25

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Cadence3.5Version names show a release about every four months (25.02, 25.06, 25.10, 26.02); no release found after 26.02.2 by October 2026; no published schedule
    Roadmap transparency1.5Release notes public; no public roadmap or tracker
    Say-do3No dated promises found to test
    Velocity2.526.02 brought HA state sync, upstream VPP and DPDK bumps and fixes; one substantive capability per release
    Lifecycle stability2.5No published support policy; upgrades are in place and documented per release

    Commercial risk: 13.5 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Price and licence volatility3Per-instance pricing since 2020 with no current public number; the free Home+Lab edition is no longer visible on the product pages (status unconfirmed)
    Purchase constraints3.5Subscription only; package repositories need a business subscription; lab evaluation by request to sales
    Channel and access2.5Direct sales, resellers and AWS and Azure Marketplace; update certificates tied to the subscription
    Owner stability2Small private company, same owner since the first release; no acquisition
    Cost of staying supported2.5Annual subscription per instance; no LTS, so staying supported means following the four-monthly releases

    Technical lock-in: 9.0 / 25 (lower is better)

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Formats2Clixon configuration exportable as text through the CLI and RESTCONF; TNSR-specific syntax
    Export path2No converter to or from pfSense or other platforms; FRRouting and strongSwan configuration concepts carry over
    Stack coupling1Any network and storage; runs alone
    Hardware / cloud coupling1.5x86 with SSE4.2 and DPDK-compatible NICs; Secure Boot must be disabled; Netgate appliances optional
    Skills and tooling coupling2.5VPP, FRRouting and YANG skills transfer; the CLI is TNSR's own

    Integrator fit: 7.5 / 20

    CriterionScoreBasis
    Partner programme openness2.5Netgate reseller programme; terms not published
    Multi-tenancy and self-service0.5No tenant model or central manager
    API and infrastructure-as-code3Complete RESTCONF and NETCONF API; no vendor Terraform or Ansible content
    Skills and certification1.5Documentation and TAC; no certification found

    AI leverage: 2.0 / 20

    How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.

    Criterion20192022TodayLatest step
    AI in threat detection0002018: None
    AI platform stack0002018: None
    AI-assisted operations0002018: None
    Agent openness2222018: RESTCONF and NETCONF API on YANG models that any agent can drive; no MCP server

    Year by year: 2018: 2 · 2019: 2 · 2020: 2 · 2021: 2 · 2022: 2 · 2023: 2 · 2024: 2 · 2025: 2 · 2026: 2

    AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 0 AI items announced; 0 GA, 0 still preview, 0 pending, 0 dropped. No AI items found for TNSR from 2023 to 2026.

    TNSR has no AI features and announces none. Its model-driven RESTCONF API is the one asset an automation agent can use today.

    Reading

    TNSR scores as a router first: BGP, OSPF, IS-IS and IPsec run on the VPP dataplane with DPDK, and 26.02 added firewall state sync between HA peers. It scores low on threat protection and network services because it has no TLS inspection, web or DNS filtering, captive portal or web UI, so it fits a data centre edge or a lab that wants throughput over features. A buyer should confirm the current price and whether a free lab edition still exists before planning on it, because the 2020 price list is the last public number and Home+Lab has left the product pages. The lack of a published support window is the main lifecycle gap.

    Open questions and items to re-score

    • Whether the Home+Lab free edition still exists; a forum post from 2026 says it is gone and a TAC Lite tier at USD 0 is listed, which was not confirmed.
    • Current subscription price; the only public figures are USD 499 and USD 899 from 2020-09-10.
    • Release dates of 25.10, 26.02.1 and 26.02.2.
    • The releases that introduced the VPF stateful firewall, WireGuard and Snort; the step years 2025, 2021 and 2022 are estimates.
    • Configuration backup and restore documentation was not opened; scored on the documented configuration save.
    • IPFIX export, Hyper-V support and the Ubuntu base version of 26.02 were not verified.

    Related reading

    More from Firewall and Router Ledger 2026