NG Firewall: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
Arista NG Firewall keeps Untangle's app-based UTM depth and reporting, with VMware as the only documented hypervisor and few public release dates.
Where Arista NG Firewall put its effort, 2016 to 2026
Each square is one capability area in one year. The brighter it is, the more the area gained in the Firewall and Router Ledger that year; 1, 2 and 3 mark that year's biggest pushes.
| ’16 | ’17 | ’18 | ’19 | ’20 | ’21 | ’22 | ’23 | ’24 | ’25 | ’26 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Routing and WAN | 1 | ||||||||||
| Firewall and NAT core | |||||||||||
| VPN and remote access | 1 | ||||||||||
| Threat protection | 2 | ||||||||||
| Network services | |||||||||||
| Platform and hypervisor freedom | 1 | ||||||||||
| High availability and performance | |||||||||||
| Management, API and automation | 1 | ||||||||||
| Observability | 3 | ||||||||||
| Platform security and lifecycle |
Biggest pushes overall: Routing and WAN (+0.5), VPN and remote access (+0.5), Threat protection (+0.5). Already strong in 2015: Firewall and NAT core, Threat protection, Network services.
Top focus each year: 2017 Management, API and automation; 2019 Platform and hypervisor freedom; 2020 VPN and remote access; 2022 Routing and WAN. 7 of 11 years show no gain in any area.
Part of the Firewall and Router Ledger (edition 2026-10-16). How the scores work: methodology.
Snapshot
- Type: product
- Owner: Arista Networks, Inc. (US, public); acquired Untangle during 2022 per Arista's FY2022 Form 10-K, date and price not disclosed; the product was renamed Arista NG Firewall within Edge Threat Management
- Engine: GPL-2.0 core (untangle/ngfw_src on GitHub) on Debian with netfilter; the paid apps are proprietary
- Licence: Core GPL-2.0; apps licensed per server in bands by active device count, on monthly, 1 year or 3 year terms; Lite Package apps are free without expiry; 30 day trial of paid apps, then NG Firewall Free basic features; no public price list (a third-party listing shows from $270 per year for up to 12 devices, unverified)
- Latest release: 17.5.0 (GitHub tag 2026-07-17; a 17.5 beta was announced 2026-05-29 and GA status is not confirmed); 17.4.1 tagged 2026-01-29
- Support lifecycle: No published support window or end-of-life dates found; in-place upgrades from the Upgrades page; 32-bit upgrades ended at 16.1
- Next milestone: none published
- Security record: 0 CISA KEV entries since 2023 (catalogue checked 2026-10-15; Arista's 2026 entries concern VeloCloud and EOS, not NG Firewall); no NG Firewall advisory page found; 17.5 patches CVE-2024-47175
- Hypervisors: VMware OVA (ESXi 6.5 Update 3 or newer, promiscuous mode on the vSwitch) and an x86 ISO for any machine with two NICs; cloud appliances on AWS and Azure; Proxmox VE, KVM, Hyper-V, XCP-ng and GCP not documented; no ARM build
- Tier: Small office and prosumer
- Archetype: Slow follower
- Evidence grade: C. The installation and VMware pages, the FAQ on licensing, the Dynamic Routing page, the GitHub repository and tags, Arista's FY2022 Form 10-K and the CISA catalogue were read from primary sources. The Arista release history article returned 403, the release highlights page is undated and stops at 17.0, and the 17.5 contents come from a search summary. Release dates for 15.0, 16.0 and 17.0 are therefore placed by year from the product history and flagged. Pricing, the support window, the API and the backup documentation were not verified.
Scorecard
| Dimension | Score | Direction |
|---|---|---|
| Capability today | 63.4 / 100 | higher is better |
| Momentum since end of 2022 | +0.0 points (2015 to 2022: +6.2) | higher is better |
| Credibility | 11.0 / 25 | higher is better |
| Commercial risk | 12.0 / 25 | lower is better |
| Technical lock-in | 9.5 / 25 | lower is better |
| Integrator fit | 7.5 / 20 | higher is better |
| AI leverage | 0.5 / 20 | higher is better |
| Ledger Index | 46.4 / 100 | balanced weights; see the methodology |
Capability by domain, 2015 to today
Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.
| Domain (weight) | 2015 | 2019 | 2022 | Today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Routing and WAN (12) | 2.5 | 2.5 | 3 | 3 |
| Firewall and NAT core (12) | 3.5 | 3.5 | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| VPN and remote access (12) | 3 | 3 | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Threat protection (12) | 3.5 | 3.5 | 4 | 4 |
| Network services (8) | 3.5 | 3.5 | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Platform and hypervisor freedom (10) | 2 | 2.5 | 2.5 | 2.5 |
| High availability and performance (8) | 1.5 | 1.5 | 1.5 | 1.5 |
| Management, API and automation (10) | 3 | 3.5 | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Observability (6) | 3.5 | 3.5 | 4 | 4 |
| Platform security and lifecycle (10) | 2.5 | 2.5 | 2.5 | 2.5 |
| Total / 100 | 57.2 | 59.2 | 63.4 | 63.4 |
Year by year: 2015: 57.2 · 2016: 57.2 · 2017: 58.2 · 2018: 58.2 · 2019: 59.2 · 2020: 62.2 · 2021: 62.2 · 2022: 63.4 · 2023: 63.4 · 2024: 63.4 · 2025: 63.4 · 2026: 63.4
What moved the score
| Year | Domain | Change | Points | Trigger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Management, API and automation | 3 → 3.5 | +1.0 | Command Center, now ETM Dashboard: central management, policy templates and remote appliance deployment (launch year not sourced; placed at 2017); no Terraform or Ansible content; 17.5 reworks the Network and System admin screens |
| 2019 | Platform and hypervisor freedom | 2 → 2.5 | +1.0 | AWS and Azure cloud appliances (introduction year not sourced; placed at 2019); UEFI support in 16.0; VMware remains the only documented hypervisor, Proxmox VE, KVM, Hyper-V and XCP-ng are absent from the installation pages |
| 2020 | Observability | 3.5 → 4 | +0.6 | 15.0: alert rules on report events (release year not sourced; placed at 2020); no NetFlow export or Grafana integration found |
| 2020 | Threat protection | 3.5 → 4 | +1.2 | 15.0: Threat Prevention app with Webroot BrightCloud reputation scores in the Complete bundle (release year not sourced; placed at 2020); 17.5 adds a Dynamic Blocklists app (GA unconfirmed); no sandboxing or file detonation |
| 2020 | VPN and remote access | 3 → 3.5 | +1.2 | 16.0: WireGuard VPN Connect app in the Complete bundle (release year not sourced; placed at 2020); 17.4 adds DNS per WireGuard roaming profile; no MFA on VPN logins, no ZTNA client |
| 2022 | Routing and WAN | 2.5 → 3 | +1.2 | BGP and OSPF documented on the Dynamic Routing page (introduction release not stated, page last edited 2024-09-12; placed at 2022); no VRFs, no probe-based path selection beyond WAN failover tests |
Direction, 2023 to 2026
Each release item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).
| Date | Item | Theme | Driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-10 | 17.4: DNS per WireGuard roaming client profile (changelog page created 2025-10-21) | VPN | C |
| 2026-01 | 17.4.1: GRUB installation fix on Protectli hardware | Platform | C |
| 2026-05 | 17.5 beta announced with the Dynamic Blocklists app | Threat protection | C |
| 2026-07 | 17.5.0 tagged: Dynamic Blocklists app (GA status unconfirmed) | Threat protection | C |
| 2026-07 | 17.5: updated Network and System administration screens | Management and API | C |
| 2026-07 | 17.5: UPnP removed; patch for CVE-2024-47175 | Security and lifecycle | U |
| 2026-07 | 17.5: OpenVPN cipher configuration changed | VPN | U |
- Centre of gravity: VPN (2), Threat protection (2), Platform (1)
- Blind spots (no items): Routing, Firewall core, Network services, High availability, Observability, Packaging, Licensing, AI
- Driver mix: Vision 0%, Customer need 71%, Market window 0%, Upstream 29%, Portfolio 0%
- Idea-to-need index: 0.00 (0 = demand-pulled, 1 = thesis-pushed)
Credibility: 11.0 / 25
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Cadence | 2 | About two tagged releases a year on an irregular rhythm (17.4.1 on 2026-01-29, 17.5.0 on 2026-07-17); no schedule |
| Roadmap transparency | 1.5 | No roadmap; the release highlights page stops at 17.0 and the release history article is not publicly readable; the wiki is public |
| Say-do | 2.5 | Little is announced; the 17.5 beta of 2026-05-29 was tagged seven weeks later, though its GA status is not confirmed |
| Velocity | 2.5 | One substantive item per release (per-profile DNS in 17.4, Dynamic Blocklists in 17.5) plus maintenance |
| Lifecycle stability | 2.5 | In-place upgrades and a long version line; renamed after the 2022 acquisition, 32-bit dropped at 16.1, and no published support windows |
Commercial risk: 12.0 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Price and licence volatility | 1.5 | No change documented since 2023; no public price list to track |
| Purchase constraints | 2.5 | Paid apps are subscription only, per server and per device band; the Lite apps and NG Firewall Free have no expiry |
| Channel and access | 2.5 | Direct and reseller sales; downloads through the ETM portal with an account; partner programme terms not found; the core source is public |
| Owner stability | 2.5 | Large public owner since 2022, but the product is a small line inside Arista and its public release page has not been updated since 17.0 |
| Cost of staying supported | 3 | Paid apps stop working without a current subscription; platform upgrades are in place |
Technical lock-in: 9.5 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Formats | 2.5 | Configuration in a database exported as a backup file |
| Export path | 3 | Backup files restore only to NG Firewall; migration to another firewall is manual |
| Stack coupling | 1 | Runs alone; the ETM Dashboard is optional |
| Hardware / cloud coupling | 1 | Any x86 machine, VMware, AWS or Azure; paid apps check their licence online |
| Skills and tooling coupling | 2 | App-based web administration specific to the product on a Debian base |
Integrator fit: 7.5 / 20
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Partner programme openness | 2.5 | Reseller channel exists; programme terms were not found |
| Multi-tenancy and self-service | 2.5 | ETM Dashboard manages many appliances with templates (vendor claim); no multi-tenant separation documented |
| API and infrastructure-as-code | 1 | JSON-RPC API not verified; no Terraform or Ansible content |
| Skills and certification | 1.5 | Wiki documentation and forum; no certification track found |
AI leverage: 0.5 / 20
How the product uses AI, scored per year like capability. Only GA counts.
| Criterion | 2019 | 2022 | Today | Latest step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI in threat detection | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2015: None; Threat Prevention uses a reputation feed that the vendor does not describe as AI |
| AI platform stack | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2015: None |
| AI-assisted operations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2015: None |
| Agent openness | 0.5 | 0.5 | 0.5 | 2015: A JSON-RPC administration API is reported but was not verified; no MCP server found |
Year by year: 2015: 0.5 · 2016: 0.5 · 2017: 0.5 · 2018: 0.5 · 2019: 0.5 · 2020: 0.5 · 2021: 0.5 · 2022: 0.5 · 2023: 0.5 · 2024: 0.5 · 2025: 0.5 · 2026: 0.5
AI say-do, 2023 to 2026: 0 AI items announced; 0 GA, 0 still preview, 0 pending, 0 dropped. No AI items were announced from 2023 to 2026.
NG Firewall ships no AI features and announces none. Its threat scoring comes from a third-party reputation feed, and agent access depends on an API the research could not verify.
Reading
NG Firewall scores well on the things Untangle built a decade ago: layer 7 application control, identity-based rules, TLS inspection, a reputation feed and reports that most small office firewalls lack. It scores badly on everything that needs a public record, because Arista publishes no roadmap, no support windows, no advisory page and no readable release history, and the latest release highlights page still describes 17.0. The hypervisor story is the practical limit for this Ledger's readers: VMware is the only documented hypervisor and Proxmox VE, KVM and Hyper-V are not mentioned on the installation pages. The one thing a buyer should check is whether 17.5.0 is a general release or still a beta, and what the per-server subscription costs for their device count, since neither is published.
Open questions and items to re-score
- Release dates for 15.0, 16.0, 17.0 and 17.4 were not found because the Arista release history article is not publicly readable; the 2017, 2019, 2020 and 2022 steps are placed by year and should be checked.
- Whether 17.5.0 (tagged 2026-07-17) is a general release; a beta was announced on 2026-05-29.
- Support window and end-of-life policy.
- Public prices for the paid apps and the ETM Dashboard; the $270 per year figure comes from a third-party listing.
- Whether a JSON-RPC API is documented and supported.
- Configuration backup and restore documentation was not read from a fetched page.
- Whether Proxmox VE, KVM or Hyper-V are supported in practice; only VMware, AWS and Azure are documented.
- The introduction release of BGP and OSPF; the Dynamic Routing page does not say.
- No release items were found for 2023 and 2024, so the direction list covers late 2025 and 2026 only.
Related reading
More from Firewall and Router Ledger 2026
- Overview: all platforms side by side
- Firewall and Router Ledger Methodology: How Every Score Is Built
- Barracuda: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Check Point: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Cisco FTD: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Forcepoint NGFW: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- FortiGate: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- IPFire: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Juniper vSRX: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Netgate TNSR: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- OpenWrt: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- OPNsense: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Palo Alto: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- pfSense: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- RouterOS: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- SonicWall NSv: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- Sophos Firewall: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- VyOS: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard
- WatchGuard: Firewall and Router Ledger 2026 Scorecard