Vultr Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
Vultr is building a simple, free-control-plane Kubernetes service that leans toward GPU and bare-metal capacity, with an MCP server in preview.
Part of the Managed Cloud Kubernetes Ledger (edition 2026-10-13). How the scores work: methodology.
1. Snapshot
- Tier: Developer cloud
- Owner: The Constant Company, LLC (Vultr), privately held
- Licence model: Pay as you go; free control plane; workers, load balancers and block storage at Vultr list prices
- Products scored: VKE clusters with optional HA control plane, cloud and bare-metal node pools, Applications tab
- Latest release: Kubernetes 1.37 on 2026-09-11
- Next signal: No dated roadmap; official MCP server is in preview since 2026-05-14
- Archetype: Low-cost GPU-ready basics
- Evidence grade: B. Changelog, SLA, GA blog, Wayback pages, GitHub and CNCF folder were opened; support window, HA price, incident history and compliance scope were not found.
2. Scorecard
| Dimension | Score | Direction |
|---|---|---|
| Capability today | 52.8 / 100 | higher is better |
| Momentum since end of 2022 | +19.4 points | higher is better |
| Credibility | 14.5 / 25 | higher is better |
| Commercial risk | 6.5 / 25 | lower is better |
| Technical lock-in | 9.0 / 25 | lower is better |
| Integrator fit | 10.5 / 20 | higher is better |
| AI leverage | 6.0 / 20 | higher is better |
| Ledger Index | 57.0 / 100 | balanced weights |
3. Capability by domain
Scores 0 to 5 against fixed anchors; total is weighted to 100.
| Domain (weight) | 2016 | 2019 | 2022 | Today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Versions, upgrades and support (12) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 2.5 |
| Nodes, autoscaling and compute choice (12) | n/a | n/a | 2.5 | 3.5 |
| Networking (10) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 3 |
| Storage and data protection (8) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 2.5 |
| Security and compliance (12) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2.5 |
| Observability and day-2 operations (8) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 1.5 |
| Multi-cluster, hybrid and fleet (10) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2 |
| Developer and app platform (8) | n/a | n/a | 1.5 | 2.5 |
| GPU and AI workloads (10) | n/a | n/a | 0 | 4 |
| Regions, sovereignty and SLA (10) | n/a | n/a | 2 | 2 |
| Total / 100 | not released | not released | 33.4 | 52.8 |
Year by year: 2021: 9.0 · 2022: 33.4 · 2023: 38.2 · 2024: 48.6 · 2025: 51.0 · 2026: 52.8
What moved the score
| Year | Domain | Change | Points | Trigger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Developer and app platform | 0.5 → 1.5 | +1.6 | Console, API and Terraform at GA |
| 2022 | Multi-cluster, hybrid and fleet | 0.5 → 1.5 | +2.0 | Several clusters per account |
| 2022 | Networking | 0.5 → 2 | +3.0 | Calico and Vultr load balancers through the cloud controller manager at GA |
| 2022 | Nodes, autoscaling and compute choice | 0.5 → 2.5 | +4.8 | Node pools of any instance type; cluster autoscaler 2022-06-13 |
| 2022 | Observability and day-2 operations | 0.5 → 1.5 | +1.6 | Deleted nodes are redeployed automatically; no managed metrics, logs or cost tools |
| 2022 | Regions, sovereignty and SLA | 0.5 → 2 | +3.0 | 24 locations at GA; no control-plane SLA; the 100% SLA covers network and hosts, not the API or control plane |
| 2022 | Security and compliance | 0.5 → 1.5 | +2.4 | Admin kubeconfig only is documented |
| 2022 | Storage and data protection | 0.5 → 2 | +2.4 | Block storage CSI with HDD class at GA 2022-05-05 |
| 2022 | Versions, upgrades and support | 0.5 → 2 | +3.6 | GA 2022-05-05 with 1.21 to 1.23; upgrades started by the user |
| 2023 | GPU and AI workloads | 0 → 2 | +4.0 | NVIDIA GPU workers in service by 2023-11-10 |
| 2023 | Storage and data protection | 2 → 2.5 | +0.8 | Volume resize 2023-03-14, XFS 2024-05, snapshots 2026-09-11; no file or object CSI or backup |
| 2024 | Developer and app platform | 1.5 → 2 | +0.8 | Container Registry credentials built into workers 2024-08-20 |
| 2024 | GPU and AI workloads | 2 → 3.5 | +3.0 | GPU Operator and bare-metal pools 2024-05-14; sharing and DRA not found |
| 2024 | Multi-cluster, hybrid and fleet | 1.5 → 2 | +1.0 | Cluster API provider v0.1.0 2024-08-22; no fleet tooling or hybrid extension |
| 2024 | Networking | 2 → 3 | +2.0 | IPv6 dual stack 2023-03-14, cluster firewall 2023-12, VPC-only pools with NAT gateway 2026-06; no Gateway API or private endpoint |
| 2024 | Nodes, autoscaling and compute choice | 2.5 → 3.5 | +2.4 | Bare-metal pools 2024-05-14; mixed node pool types; labels and taints; no spot or Windows; size limits not found |
| 2024 | Versions, upgrades and support | 2 → 2.5 | +1.2 | Median lag 41 days over 1.27 to 1.37; upgrades replace nodes and change IPs; no support window or channels published |
| 2025 | Security and compliance | 1.5 → 2.5 | +2.4 | OIDC authentication 2025-05-14, IAM actions for clusters, firewall; no policy engine; platform SOC 2 scope for VKE not confirmed |
| 2026 | Developer and app platform | 2 → 2.5 | +0.8 | Applications tab with marketplace applications such as AMD AI Workbench documented 2026-06 |
| 2026 | GPU and AI workloads | 3.5 → 4 | +1.0 | Bare-metal AMD Instinct MI300X, MI325X and MI355X pools documented 2026-06 |
4. Direction, 2023 to 2026
Each item carries one theme and one driver (V vision, C customer need, M market window, U upstream, P portfolio).
| Date | Item | Theme | Driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-03 | IPv6 dual stack and block resizing | D4 Networking | C |
| 2023-11 | High availability control plane | D1 Versions and lifecycle | C |
| 2024-05 | Bare-metal node pools and GPU Operator | D13 Accelerators | M |
| 2024-08 | Cluster API provider | D11 Ecosystem openness | C |
| 2025-05 | OIDC authentication | D9 Security | C |
| 2025-10 | Kubernetes 1.34 and Ubuntu 24.04 workers | D1 Versions and lifecycle | U |
| 2026-05 | Official MCP server in preview | D7 AI-assisted operations | M |
| 2026-06 | VPC-only node pools and AMD AI Workbench application | D13 Accelerators | M |
| 2026-09 | CSI snapshots and Kubernetes 1.37 | D5 Storage and data protection | P |
- Centre of gravity: Versions and lifecycle (2), Accelerators (2), Networking (1)
- Driver mix: Vision 0%, Customer need 44%, Market window 33%, Upstream 11%, Portfolio 11%
5. Credibility: 14.5 / 25
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Cadence | 3.5 | Every release dated in the changelog, 12 minors at 7 to 73 days; no published calendar |
| Roadmap transparency | 2.5 | Dated changelog only; no roadmap, no support policy, status page keeps no history |
| Say-do | 2.5 | Too few dated promises to judge: one pending MCP preview, one stale FAQ answer on bare metal |
| Velocity | 3.5 | Bare metal, OIDC, VPC-only pools, snapshots, GPU pools and applications shipped 2024 to 2026 |
| Lifecycle stability | 2.5 | Manual upgrades that replace nodes and change IPs; no support window or end-of-life dates published |
Say-do record, 2023 to 2026: 2 items in 2023 to 2026: 1 pending (MCP server preview since 2026-05-14), 1 stale statement (marketing FAQ denies bare metal that the changelog added 2024-05-14). No public roadmap; VKE beta to GA in 2021 to 2022 took 9 months.
6. Commercial risk: 6.5 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Price and licence volatility | 1 | Control plane free since GA; pricing page text unchanged 2023 to 2026; HA fee not stated |
| Purchase constraints | 0.5 | Self-service pay as you go, hourly billing |
| Channel and access | 1 | Self-service sign-up, public docs and pricing, 33 locations |
| Owner stability | 1.5 | Private company; financials not examined |
| Cost of staying supported | 2.5 | No published support window; upgrades manual and replace nodes |
Security record of the product itself: none found: no VKE security bulletins published; no cross-tenant or control-plane flaw disclosed 2023 to 2026. The runc fix for CVE-2024-21626 first appears in the 2024-05-14 changelog, 3.5 months after disclosure.
7. Technical lock-in: 9.0 / 25 (lower is better)
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Formats | 0.5 | Certified Kubernetes (CNCF folders 1.24 to 1.37); Calico only |
| Export path | 2 | Cluster API and Terraform; no migration or Kubernetes backup service found; bandwidth overage fee not read |
| Stack coupling | 2 | Vultr load balancers, block storage classes and VPC reconciled by the service; VPC 2.0 not supported |
| Hardware / cloud coupling | 3.5 | Vultr cloud only; no hybrid or on-premises extension found |
| Skills and tooling coupling | 1 | kubectl, Terraform and vultr-cli |
8. Integrator fit: 10.5 / 20
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Partner programme openness | 2.5 | Partner programme and solution partners listed; tiers not read |
| Multi-tenancy and self-service | 2.5 | Vultr IAM policies with Kubernetes actions; no organisation or fleet isolation read |
| API and infrastructure-as-code | 4 | Terraform provider 6.1 million downloads (partner tier), Cluster API and Crossplane providers, CLI and Go client |
| Skills and certification | 1.5 | No Kubernetes certification found |
9. AI leverage: 6 / 20
| Strand | Today | Latest step |
|---|---|---|
| AI workload support | 2 | 2024: GPU Operator and bare-metal GPU pools from 2024-05-14; no sharing or inference add-ons |
| AI platform stack | 1 | 2026: Applications tab deploys AMD AI Workbench and OpenFold3 (2026-06 and 2026-07); partner applications, maturity not stated |
| AI-assisted operations | 0 | none |
| Agent openness | 3 | 2026: Official hosted MCP server in preview with OAuth, 11 Kubernetes tools, read-only, from 2026-05-14 |
AI say-do: 1 announced, 0 GA, 1 preview (MCP), 0 dropped. VKE has GPU pools and an applications catalogue but no AI assistant or inference add-on; first-pass GPU launch dates have no source.
10. Reading
Vultr is building a simple, free-control-plane Kubernetes service that leans toward GPU and bare-metal capacity, with an MCP server in preview. The record shows fast version releases (median 41 days) and steady dated changelog entries, but no roadmap, no support policy, no control-plane SLA and no incident history. A buyer gets cheap standard Kubernetes with strong GPU choices and thin security, operations and sovereignty depth.
11. Open questions and evidence caveats
- No support window or end-of-life dates published; end of support is not scored from evidence.
- HA control plane price, VKE availability per location and cluster size limits not found.
- The SLA is a 100% network and host-node guarantee that excludes the API and control panel; the VKE control plane has no stated SLA.
- Status page keeps no history, so reliability could not be assessed; web search quota was exhausted, so launch blog posts for HA, bare metal and GPU pools were not opened.
- Marketing FAQ says VKE does not support bare metal; docs and changelog show bare-metal pools.
- Etcd encryption is a provider claim; the security guide says Secrets are only base64 encoded unless encryption is enabled.
- Compliance: a SOC 2 report is available in the console; scope for VKE not confirmed.
More from Managed Cloud Kubernetes Ledger 2026
- Overview: all platforms side by side
- Cloud Kubernetes Ledger Methodology: How Every Score Is Built
- Akamai Linode Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Alibaba ACK: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger 2026
- Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Azure Kubernetes Service: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Civo Kubernetes: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- CoreWeave Kubernetes Service: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- DigitalOcean Kubernetes: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Google Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Huawei Cloud Cloud Container Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- IBM IKS / ROKS: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger 2026
- IONOS Cloud Managed Kubernetes: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Open Telekom Cloud Cloud Container Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Oracle OCI Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- OVHcloud Managed Kubernetes Service: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Red Hat OpenShift Service on AWS: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Scaleway Kubernetes Kapsule and Kosmos: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- STACKIT Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Tencent Kubernetes Engine: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger
- Upstream Kubernetes: Cloud Kubernetes Ledger