TRACKER / PROVIDER

    Dropbox free plan: what you actually get

    The signup allowance, every dated change to it, what happens if the account goes idle, and whether a backup tool can reach it. Each figure carries the source it came from and the date it was last checked.

    2 GB (up to 18 GB total: 2 GB base + up to 16 GB earnable via referrals at 500 MB each)·5 tracked changes·Verified 2026-07-29
    01

    What you get free

    2 GB (up to 18 GB total: 2 GB base + up to 16 GB earnable via referrals at 500 MB each)

    Referrals and promotional tasks can raise this to about 18 GB. That ceiling is deliberately kept out of the headline figure, because a plan you have to keep working for is not the same as one you are simply given.

    SOURCE / Official pricing page

    Taken from Dropbox's own pricing page on 2026-07-29. Free tiers move, so check the source before you plan around the number.

    02

    How it changed

    5

    Every entry below is dated and linked to the announcement it came from. This is the part worth reading before you commit: a free tier that has been cut once can be cut again.

    Tracked changes to the Dropbox free tier, newest first, each with its source.
    DateChangeWhat happened
    March 2019CutIn March 2019 Dropbox quietly capped free Basic accounts at three simultaneously linked/logged-in devices. Devices linked before March 2019 were grandfathered and remain on the device list, but no new devices can be added once at or over the limit. Paid plans (Plus, Family, Professional, Essentials, team plans) have no device cap. Browser access and third-party API apps do not count toward the limit. How many devices can I use with my Dropbox account? - Dropbox Help
    March 15, 2017CutOn 15 March 2017 Dropbox converted the legacy Public folder into a standard private folder on Basic (free) accounts, breaking all existing public links to files in it. The files themselves were retained. Plus and team accounts kept the Public folder until 1 September 2017. Changes to the Dropbox Public folder - Dropbox Help
    October 3, 2016CutAs of 3 October 2016, Dropbox Basic (free) users could no longer use public links to render HTML content in a web browser — ending the common practice of hosting simple static web pages from a free Dropbox account. Changes to the Dropbox Public folder - Dropbox Help
    April 2012FeatureDropbox doubled referral rewards for free accounts from 250 MB to 500 MB per referral and doubled the earnable cap to 16 GB (32 referrals). Pro accounts went to 1 GB per referral capped at 32 GB. The change was applied retroactively to referrals already made. Base free storage stayed at 2 GB. Dropbox Will Give You 32GB of Free Storage for Referring Friends - Gizmodo
    September 11, 2008LaunchDropbox exited private beta and launched to the public at TechCrunch50 with a permanently free 2 GB tier, alongside a paid 50 GB plan at $9.99/month or $99.99/year. Dropbox launches to the public! - Dropbox Blog
    03

    What happens if you stop using it

    Inactive for 12 months: Dropbox measures inactivity by log-ins and file activity (adding, editing, deleting) anywhere on Dropbox over the past 12 months. Account closure for inactivity affects Dropbox Basic (free) accounts only — paid accounts are exempt. If an account is flagged…

    SOURCE / What to do if you got an email about an inactive Dropbox account - Dropbox Help

    This is the policy as written by Dropbox, checked on 2026-07-29. It is the clause people discover too late, which is why it gets its own section.

    04

    Can a backup tool reach it?

    Automation support for Dropbox, which decides whether it can be part of a scripted backup rather than a manual drag-and-drop.
    rcloneSupported via the dropbox backend docs
    WebDAVNot publicly specified — being verified
    API on the free tierNot publicly specified — being verified

    The page has a dedicated "Get your own Dropbox App ID" section: "When you use rclone with Dropbox in its default configuration…

    05

    Should you rely on it?

    Not on its own. A free tier is a reasonable third copy under the 3-2-1 rule and a poor only copy, for the reason this page documents: the allowance is a business decision the provider can revise, and several on the tracker already have.

    If the data matters, pair it with something you control. The offsite backup guide covers the pattern, and cloud backup options compares paid tiers that come with a retention promise instead of a marketing page.

    2 GB (up to 18 GB total: 2 GB base + up to 16 GB earnable via referrals at 500 MB each) Last verified 2026-07-29.

    The tracked history holds 5 dated changes, the most recent being Cut on March 2019. Each entry links the announcement it came from.

    After 12 months. Dropbox measures inactivity by log-ins and file activity (adding, editing, deleting) anywhere on Dropbox over the past 12 months. Account closure for inactivity affects Dropbox Basic (free) accounts only — paid accounts are exempt. If an account is flagged…

    Yes, via the dropbox backend. WebDAV: Not publicly specified — being verified. Free-tier API access: Not publicly specified — being verified.

    No. One copy in one place is not a backup, whoever hosts it. A free tier is a useful third copy inside the 3-2-1 rule, never the only one — free tiers change, and this page exists because they have.