What you get free
Not publicly specified — being verified. We do not publish an allowance we have not checked against the provider's own page.
How it changed
4Every entry below is dated and linked to the announcement it came from. This is the part worth reading before you commit: a free tier that has been cut once can be cut again.
| Date | Change | What happened |
|---|---|---|
| September 2025 | Policy | Icedrive changed the free plan's stated allowance from a general 50 GB monthly bandwidth cap to a 50 GB 'Public transfer' allowance, apparently narrowing the metered quantity to public/shared-link traffic. Plans & Pricing - Icedrive (archived 14 Sep 2025) |
| March 2025 | Policy | Icedrive added an explicit clause allowing removal of free accounts inactive for 12 consecutive months, plus a storage-abuse clause. No comparable inactivity clause existed in the ToS before this. Terms of Service - Icedrive Legal (archived 21 Mar 2025) |
| December 2023 | Policy | The free plan's transfer allowance changed from a 3 GB daily cap to a 50 GB monthly cap, removing the daily ceiling but lowering the theoretical monthly maximum (~90 GB to 50 GB). Storage stayed at 10 GB. Plans & Pricing - Icedrive (archived 12 Dec 2023) |
| June 2019 | Cut | Icedrive halved the free plan from 20 GB to 10 GB. The 3 GB/day bandwidth cap and the exclusion of client-side encryption were unchanged. Icedrive - Next-Generation Cloud Storage - Get 10GB Free (archived 7 Jul 2019) |
What happens if you stop using it
Inactive for 12 months: Free accounts that remain inactive for 12 consecutive months may be removed from Icedrive's system, including all associated content and data. Icedrive states users are notified prior to deletion and given an opportunity to log in to retain the account.
This is the policy as written by Icedrive, checked on 2026-07-29. It is the clause people discover too late, which is why it gets its own section.
Can a backup tool reach it?
| rclone | No dedicated backend docs |
|---|---|
| WebDAV | Not publicly specified — being verified |
| API on the free tier | Not publicly specified — being verified |
The only rclone route to Icedrive is the generic webdav backend, and rclone's own forum documents it as unreliable. In…
Should you rely on it?
Not on its own. A free tier is a reasonable third copy under the 3-2-1 rule and a poor only copy, for the reason this page documents: the allowance is a business decision the provider can revise, and several on the tracker already have.
If the data matters, pair it with something you control. The offsite backup guide covers the pattern, and cloud backup options compares paid tiers that come with a retention promise instead of a marketing page.
The current free allowance is being re-verified against Icedrive's own pricing page rather than quoted from memory.
The tracked history holds 4 dated changes, the most recent being Policy on September 2025. Each entry links the announcement it came from.
After 12 months. Free accounts that remain inactive for 12 consecutive months may be removed from Icedrive's system, including all associated content and data. Icedrive states users are notified prior to deletion and given an opportunity to log in to retain the account.
Not through a dedicated rclone backend. WebDAV: Not publicly specified — being verified.
No. One copy in one place is not a backup, whoever hosts it. A free tier is a useful third copy inside the 3-2-1 rule, never the only one — free tiers change, and this page exists because they have.