#4 of 15 enterprise backup software · Updated October 2026
IBM review 2026
IBM Storage Defender / Storage Protect · Governed recovery portfolio
IBM ranks #4 of 15 enterprise backup software in the Enterprise Backup Ledger 2026, with a Ledger Index of 65.1 out of 100. IBM is connecting established backup engines with recovery governance and threat scanning.
Scores
Source: Enterprise Backup Ledger 2026, edition 2026-10-03. How each score works: methodology.
Pros
- Virtual and physical servers4.5/5
- Databases and applications4.5/5
- Storage efficiency and targets4.5/5
- Long-term retention and tape4.5/5
Cons
No domain scores 2.5 or lower out of 5. Check the lock-in and buying notes below.
What the Ledger says
IBM is connecting established backup engines with recovery governance and threat scanning. Dated Defender notes and Protect documentation show immutable targets, recovery groups and a governed MCP interface. Component entitlements, reader compatibility and phased upgrades remain significant dependencies.
AI say-do sample: 4 recorded announcement rows; 2 GA/shipped matches, 0 preview/early/limited at announcement, 2 partial, 0 pending, 0 slipped, 0 dropped. Preview-at-announcement overlaps outcome counts. These are promise-row counts, not unique announcements or counts of released AI features; omissions/overlaps in the AI research ledger are preserved. "Shipped" may be a vendor availability assertion rather than an independently verified first-GA day.
Capability by area
Buying, lock-in and release record
Buying and licence (commercial risk)(lower is better)
- Price and licence volatility2.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Defender RU consumption and paid Essential/trial models are documented; existing licences can continue or convert. 2023; exact original GA day not printed: Primary GA notice introduces consumption Resource Units (RU); existing licences continue or may convert to RUs. A GA assertion, not a reconstructed day. 2024-07-29: DRS2.0.6 introduces60-day Trial and paid Essential subscriptions. Evidence A. [defgacredits](https://www.ibm.com/new/announcements/clients-can-strengthen-defenses-for-their-data-with-ibm-storage-defender-now-generally-available); [drs206](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__title__22)
- Purchase constraints3
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Licence metrics, edition gates and purchase routes determine this estimate; undisclosed minimums are not assumed zero. Separate families: Defender Data Protect/Replica versus Storage Protect server and VE/SQL components; no unified licence or price inferred Evidence A. [def21](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7250025); [ve](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/download-information-ibm-storage-protect-virtual-environments-820); [sql](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/6847283)
- Channel and access3.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Fix Central upgrade packages omit licence enablement; initial licences/packages require Passport Advantage. 2025-06-20: Plus10.1.17 service packs become upgrade-only; fresh deployments need mod/base then iFix. Fix Central maintenance lacks licence enablement; obtain initial licence package via Passport Advantage. Evidence A. [plus17Download](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7184652)
- Owner stability0
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. OEM partnership broadens portfolio; no recent controlling-owner change recorded. 2023-03-02: IBM/Cohesity OEM collaboration announced; planned2Q2023 availability begins with Storage Protect and Cohesity DataProtect. Pricing/contract quantities not disclosed. Evidence A. [oem](https://newsroom.ibm.com/2023-03-02-IBM-and-Cohesity-Announce-New-Data-Security-and-Resiliency-Collaboration-Advancing-Enterprises-Ability-to-Fight-the-Impacts-of-Breaches-and-Cyberattacks)
- Cost of staying supported3.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Defender 1.x/2.0 EOS with no extended support; Plus chained/full-OS upgrade requirements. 2026-06-30 EOS: Defender1.x/2.0 support ends; no extended support available; supported2.1 onward. Plus10.1.17 /2025: Upgrade only from10.1.16.4; vSnap update precedes appliance; pre-upgrade script and full OS replacement. Base plus iFix needed for new installs. Evidence A. [drs215](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__section_9__title__1); [plus17](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/spp/10.1.17?topic=new-updates-in-version-10117); [plus17Download](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7184652)
Technical lock-in(lower is better)
- Formats4
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. LZ4 archives written by 8.1.12 require an 8.1.12+ client: explicit vendor reader/version coupling. Client8.1.12: LZ4-compressed backups created by8.1.12 can only be restored by8.1.12+ clients. This is an explicit reader-version compatibility boundary. Evidence A. [clientCumulative](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-protect/8.1.27?topic=new-backup-archive-client-updates)
- Export path2.5
- 2026-10-01 evidence boundary: Independent data extraction and post-licence restoration terms are incomplete. Provisional export estimate, not proof of no export or licence-required restore. Provisional rubric estimate; unknown terms are not evidence of either zero risk or the worst terms. Evidence C.
- Stack coupling3
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. The documented component/management stack is considered; cross-workload or cross-hypervisor recovery is not inferred from an API. Stack components: Defender installation files include Cohesity-named images/packages on qualified hardware and virtual/cloud editions; IBM product entitlement remains separate Evidence C. [def21](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7250025)
- Hardware / cloud coupling2
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Deployment/service dependencies determine this score; missing offline/hardware terms are a provisional estimate. Stack components: Defender installation files include Cohesity-named images/packages on qualified hardware and virtual/cloud editions; IBM product entitlement remains separate Evidence C. [def21](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7250025)
- Skills and tooling coupling3.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Named training and product-specific administration imply some skills coupling; no unsourced scarcity/headcount claim. Provider multitenancy: DRS2.1.1 organization isolation, user assignment and Service Provider Access impersonation; accounts/roles govern access. Evidence A. [drs211](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__section_5__title__1)
Release credibility
- Cadence4.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. 142 recorded release rows, including maintenance and component overlaps; rows are not distinct GA counts. Regularity judged from the dated tables, not an asserted promised cadence. Defender2.0.0 /Data Protect7.1.1 (2023-12-11): Platform/component package-release clocks; agent and cluster deployment Evidence A. [def20](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7091491)
- Roadmap transparency3
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Public documentation access and versioned release evidence determine this score. Accepted roadmap finding: not found; dated release and vendor announcement pages used. No open-roadmap-tracker reference score is awarded. Defender2.0.0 /Data Protect7.1.1 (2023-12-11): Platform/component package-release clocks; agent and cluster deployment Evidence A. [def20](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7091491)
- Say-do3
- Recorded ledger: 27 items; 18 shipped, 9 partial, 0 slipped, 0 pending, 0 dropped. Mature dated prospective cohort: 9; 1 documented within 12 calendar months, 0 later than 12 months, 8 unresolved. Month-only/ambiguous clocks, same-day release notices and post-release blogs are excluded from that cohort. Pending is unverified, not failure; the ledger is a bounded sample. Evidence C for the rubric estimate: calibrated to the delivery record below, not a measured census percentage. See the vendor research section F.
- Velocity4
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Substantive capabilities in the release tables determine velocity; maintenance-only rows do not become new features. Storage Protect8.2.2 (GA day unresolved; currency index2026-08-04 /documentation2026-09-04): Server DB backup stacking/reclamation on tape; Call Home support telemetry; object-agent multipart listing/restore optimization; official MCP interface documented. Same-host data TLS opt-out is optional, authentication encrypted; not a general encryption removal. Evidence A. [server822](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-protect/8.2.2?topic=whats-new); [fix82](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7253222)
- Lifecycle stability2.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Accepted lifecycle finding: Data Protect support policy effective2025-08-01: major releases generally18 months; current minor/patch may be required for fixes. Release notes need IBMid linked to tenant.7.4.0 EOS2027-09-30;7.4.1 EOS2027-10-27. Source: IBM support information.. Grade C where current contract/EOS boundaries remain unresolved. 2025-06-20: Plus10.1.17 service packs become upgrade-only; fresh deployments need mod/base then iFix. Fix Central maintenance lacks licence enablement; obtain initial licence package via Passport Advantage. Evidence C. [plus17Download](https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/node/7184652)
Partners and services
- Partner programme openness3.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Published partner routes and entry/tier qualifications earn credit; undisclosed obligations limit the score. Provider multitenancy: DRS2.1.1 organization isolation, user assignment and Service Provider Access impersonation; accounts/roles govern access. Evidence A. [drs211](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__section_5__title__1)
- Multi-tenancy and self-service4
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. DRS 2.1.1 organization isolation and Service Provider Access; billing/self-service breadth incomplete. Provider multitenancy: DRS2.1.1 organization isolation, user assignment and Service Provider Access impersonation; accounts/roles govern access. Evidence A. [drs211](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__section_5__title__1)
- API and infrastructure-as-code3.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Official governed MCP and validated webhook integrations; full vendor IaC coverage remains unresolved. First repository commit2026-03-25;v1.0.0 2026-07-16;v1.1.0 2026-09-25; Official open-source MCP integration for commercial product: One MCP process per Protect server; stdio/SSH or HTTP-SSE. Production HTTP requires TLS and OIDC issuer/audience. Dynamic passwords memory-only with15-minute inactivity lease; write identity/correlation recorded in each server ACTLOG. Audit retention not specified by guide. Integration is not a new OSS backup vendor and has as-is/support disclaimer. Threat/incident integrations: DRS2.0.5 QRadar;2.0.8 Splunk;2.2.0 validated Slack/Teams/CrowdStrike/ServiceNow webhooks. Evidence A. [mcpRepo](https://github.com/IBM/storage-protect-mcp-server); [mcpReleases](https://github.com/IBM/storage-protect-mcp-server/releases); [mcpConfig110](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/IBM/storage-protect-mcp-server/v1.1.0/docs/guides/configure-guide.md); [drs205](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__title__23); [drs208](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__title__20); [drs220](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__section_10__title__1)
- Skills and certification2.5
- Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Historical named Protect credentials exist; withdrawal is indexed and current Defender credential unresolved. Dated2017-11-16 training path: Spectrum Protect8 training path names Test511 IBM Certified Deployment Professional–Tivoli Storage ManagerV7.1, plus8.1.2 implementation/admin training TS616G. Evidence of an existing certification, not a2017 first-launch claim. Historical Spectrum Protect8.1 credentials: Indexed IBM catalogue names Certified Administrator–Spectrum ProtectV8.1, withdrawn2020-05-31 and expiring2020-09-30; Deployment ProfessionalV8.1 badge also indexed. Opened pages returned empty bodies, soB; neither proves a current Defender credential. Evidence B. [training17](https://www.ibm.com/training/pdfs/spectrum_protect_v8.pdf); [admin81Cert](https://www.ibm.com/training/certification/ibm-certified-administrator-spectrum-protect-v81-24011006); [deploy81Badge](https://www.ibm.com/training/badge/ibm-certified-deployment-professional-spectrum-protect-v8-1)
Alternatives to IBM
Questions about IBM
Is IBM any good?
IBM ranks #4 of 15 enterprise backup software in the Enterprise Backup Ledger 2026, with a Ledger Index of 65.1 out of 100. Its strongest areas are virtual and physical servers, databases and applications, storage efficiency and targets.
What are the best alternatives to IBM?
The closest by Ledger Index are NAKIVO (64.3), HYCU (63.8), Rubrik (63.1), Dell (63).
How is IBM licensed and sold?
Scored 2026-10-03 from the accepted cutoff fact base. Defender RU consumption and paid Essential/trial models are documented; existing licences can continue or convert. 2023; exact original GA day not printed: Primary GA notice introduces consumption Resource Units (RU); existing licences continue or may convert to RUs. A GA assertion, not a reconstructed day. 2024-07-29: DRS2.0.6 introduces60-day Trial and paid Essential subscriptions. Evidence A. [defgacredits](https://www.ibm.com/new/announcements/clients-can-strengthen-defenses-for-their-data-with-ibm-storage-defender-now-generally-available); [drs206](https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/storage-defender/base?topic=new-updates-in-previous-versions#r_whatsnew_def_previous__title__22).
How much lock-in does IBM bring?
IBM scores 15 out of 25 on technical lock-in (lower is better). Export path: 2026-10-01 evidence boundary: Independent data extraction and post-licence restoration terms are incomplete. Provisional export estimate, not proof of no export or licence-required restore. Provisional rubric estimate; unknown terms are not evidence of either zero risk or the worst terms. Evidence C.
User reviews of IBM
No reviews yet
Be the first to say how IBM worked for you.
Write a review
No account needed and no email asked. We read every review before it appears and remove adverts, spam and personal attacks.